Mom's Rum Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Yummy! Even pleased my super picky mother-in-law @ Christmas. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
RUM A DUM DUM. Now I understand why pirates love this stuff. This cake is outrageously delicious. Just the right amount of rum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kayt Krepcho

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Homestead, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Wow....I made this cake for my moms birthday. It was AWESOME!!!! The only things I changed were, instead of plain run I used 1/2 Captain Morgan Spiced Rum and 1/2 Vanilla Rum in both the cake and the syrup. I also added Vanilla Paste to the sauce. This is by far the best rum cake ever. Thanks Laura
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
Made this & shared half with my mum, she thinks it's a little much rum (she slept wonderfully!) But I thought it was absolutely DEVINE, lasted a whole 2 days at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wynonah Johnson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Recipe itself is very good -. I messed up on the glaze & cooked it too long so it got really thick. Also only used 1/4 cup of rum in glaze as I did not want it to turn out too strong. You can taste/smell the rum in the cake so that turned out well. First time baking Rum Cake - will definitely try this again & hopefully get a better result. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
Absolutely delicious! Easy to make. I followed the instructions exactly. Baked for less than 60 minutes due to our altitude (6200 ft). Cooked glaze for 3 minutes as previously recommended. Did the hole-poking, then spooned on the glaze. Used Bacardi rum. It is a fabulous cake. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Best Rum cake recipe out there. This is so moist. At first i thought it called for too much rum but after tasting it, it was perfect to say the least. Everyone raved about it. The pecans really add the flavor too. I followed the recipe in detail & didn't change one thing. Just can't say enough. Wish i could rate it 10 stars!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I make this every Christmas, and it never lasts long. Great recipe, I follow it exactly and it always works. Thanks for posting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SandyLee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
I bought 1.5 oz pudding mixes because I didn't have this recipe on me to know what size so I just bought a bunch of the small ones. So I used two small packages of pudding (3 oz total) and even that was WAY too much. The batter is So thick! I was making a bunch of mini Rum Cakes so I wasn't planning on turning them upside down. Now I have to because the batter was so thick that the tops are ugly. No word on the taste yet. I'm sure they'll taste fine. But presentation was key for me this time because I was planning on giving them to co-workers as gifts for Christmas. LESS PUDDING! I'd make more with less pudding but "The Rum's Gone!" Planning on maybe cutting off the tops and turning them upside down? But I don't have pretty paper plates to give them out on... I'll figure something out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I have been making this cake for 5 years and everyone always begs for more. My boss ask for this cake for her birthday every year and it is so good that I have to make one for her to share with the office and another one for her to take home to her family. Great receipe thank you so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gulfport, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Sugar Hill, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States