Mom's Rum Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2004
Instead of poking holes in the cake, I poured the glaze into the Bundt pan and merely reinserted the cake into the pan allowing it to absorb all of the glaze. Took about an hour to do so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
195 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2004
This is the same recipe my mom has been making for years. Perfect in every way. I added 3/4 cup of Rum to the glaze mix and depending on your oven, baking time may be shorter than 1 hour. Perfect and moist to the last piece and easily freezable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gurnee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Wonder Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2003
Good recipie, however, the glaze instructions were a bit unclear. If you cook the glaze too long, you get candy! Also, the instructions don't tell you that the cake get 1/2 cup water and the glaze 1/4. It also says the nuts should be on the top, however, the bottom of the Bundt pan (where the nuts are) is the top. These seemingly minor details tend to cause trouble for the novice cook! You also can add the rum to the glaze while it's reducing to cut the alcohol. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bmoreman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2003
This is an excellent recipe. I was given this same exact recipe years ago, and continue to make it every Christmas - for my family and for gifts. I am always asked to write down the recipe!! ENJOY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2003
I took this to an office party and it went so fast. I used 160 proof spiced rum. Created holiday spirit for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2003
Excellent!! This cake is so moist and delicious. I baked it for my family and took the little bit that was left over to work and everyone raved about it. Thanks Laura!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2003
This cake is so moist. I thought the cake tasted much better the second day than the first day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2002
I used the glaze recipe from this one, as I had already made a yellow cake from scratch. YUM, was this wonderful!!! I reduced the amount of glaze that I allowed to absorb into the cake, and with the glaze I reserved, I spooned onto individual servings of the cake. It was fantastic and I will definitely be making this again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mumtaz Wangnoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2002
This rum cake was really great. It's best eaten right after you pour the glaze on. My neigbors devoured it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Miami Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2002
Great taste, easy and loved by the whole family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States