Mom's Rum Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: May 4, 2006
LOVE this recipe! A family friend makes it every Christmas and always gives us one. It's the best ever, I swear!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
I tried to find faults with this cake since it was so easy, but no luck. I used 70 proof spiced rum which kept the alcohol from being overpowering, and added a aromatic Caribbean flavor to the cake. Rum=Good, Cake=Good, This Rum Cake=The Best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
I made this cake for a friend for christmas and he shared it with his friends now I have his friends calling me telling me that this cake is awwwsoooom. I will make this cake over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PEJMO3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
I had a problem with the glaze. I cooked it until very thick, but it thinned to almost like water when I added the rum. I let it cool a bit before I put it over the cake. I used a hint that I read about pouring part of the glaze in the pan and putting the cake back in the pan to soak up the glaze. I ened up with the pecans on top and I spooned the rest of the glaze over it. No matter what, it was a big hit......everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
Isn't this the exact same recipe for Golden Rum Cake on this site?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2005
This was an easy recipe. I used a 10" bundt pan. I also put brown sugar on bottom with the pecans. However, mine stuck to the bottom.Next time, I will use parchment paper and regular tube pan. I also used coconut pudding instead of vanilla. Great recipe. No one could believe it was from a cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waycross, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2005
this cake was fantastic!! Everyone who tried it loved it. I will be making this cake of.ten
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BOOBEEDOO

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2005
This recipe is the best after trying several others. I took not of others suggestions and left the cake in the pan to pour the glaze over and let it soak into the cake. I also used fewer pecans than called for and added about a 1/4 cup brown sugar in the bottom of the pan before pouring the batter in. Finally, do not let the glaze cook too long. It will burn and/or turn to sticky candy. 5 minutes is sufficient on med/high heat! You can not beat this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2005
This is such a wonderful Rum Cake! Seriously, it rose 50% more than others that I've tried. I took the advice of another reader and poured the glaze into the tube pan and returned the semi-cooled cake to that same pan. What a great method and all of that delicious rum glaze was absorbed by the cake. FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Foery

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lone Tree, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
I had intended to make one cake to take to a New Year's Eve party tonight. I ended up having to make two - once my family cut into the first one, it was gone!! I had no problem with the glaze. It took about 12 minutes to get to the perfect consistency, and I did find that it worked better when I spooned it over, rather than pouring it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Kryvko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hazelwood, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Charles, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States