Mom's Rum Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: May 4, 2006
LOVE this recipe! A family friend makes it every Christmas and always gives us one. It's the best ever, I swear!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
I tried to find faults with this cake since it was so easy, but no luck. I used 70 proof spiced rum which kept the alcohol from being overpowering, and added a aromatic Caribbean flavor to the cake. Rum=Good, Cake=Good, This Rum Cake=The Best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
I made this cake for a friend for christmas and he shared it with his friends now I have his friends calling me telling me that this cake is awwwsoooom. I will make this cake over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PEJMO3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
I had a problem with the glaze. I cooked it until very thick, but it thinned to almost like water when I added the rum. I let it cool a bit before I put it over the cake. I used a hint that I read about pouring part of the glaze in the pan and putting the cake back in the pan to soak up the glaze. I ened up with the pecans on top and I spooned the rest of the glaze over it. No matter what, it was a big hit......everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
Isn't this the exact same recipe for Golden Rum Cake on this site?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2005
This was an easy recipe. I used a 10" bundt pan. I also put brown sugar on bottom with the pecans. However, mine stuck to the bottom.Next time, I will use parchment paper and regular tube pan. I also used coconut pudding instead of vanilla. Great recipe. No one could believe it was from a cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waycross, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2005
this cake was fantastic!! Everyone who tried it loved it. I will be making this cake of.ten
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BOOBEEDOO

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2005
This recipe is the best after trying several others. I took not of others suggestions and left the cake in the pan to pour the glaze over and let it soak into the cake. I also used fewer pecans than called for and added about a 1/4 cup brown sugar in the bottom of the pan before pouring the batter in. Finally, do not let the glaze cook too long. It will burn and/or turn to sticky candy. 5 minutes is sufficient on med/high heat! You can not beat this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2005
This is such a wonderful Rum Cake! Seriously, it rose 50% more than others that I've tried. I took the advice of another reader and poured the glaze into the tube pan and returned the semi-cooled cake to that same pan. What a great method and all of that delicious rum glaze was absorbed by the cake. FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mojomama

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lone Tree, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
I had intended to make one cake to take to a New Year's Eve party tonight. I ended up having to make two - once my family cut into the first one, it was gone!! I had no problem with the glaze. It took about 12 minutes to get to the perfect consistency, and I did find that it worked better when I spooned it over, rather than pouring it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Kryvko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hazelwood, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Charles, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States