Mom's Rum Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
The cake was awesome and very moist, but my glaze did not turn out so well. The rum flavor was really overpowering. I will definitely try again with less rum though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
Thanks Laura for sharing your Mom's very tasty rum cake! I mistakenly added the rum glaze to the bottom of the cake instead of the top. When I turned the cake upright onto a platter, I realized my mistake. I felt I should redeem myself by making more glaze for the top of the cake or no one would be able to taste the rum. Well, obviously doubling the glaze is not necessarily a bad thing, because I had more compliments on that cake than any other I've ever made! Several friends asked if they could take a slice home. I refrigerated my leftover slice and had it the next morning with my coffee. YUM! I liked it even better when it was cold. Yes, I'll be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Brandon, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
I do love this cake recipe and have finally mastered the glaze! Like others have mentioned, you have to get it to a boil before you pour on cake. I usually boil for 5 minutes and it comes out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
I used French Vanilla instant pudding and reduced the rum in the glaze to half. I had a problem with the glaze too - I must have boiled it too long because it crystallized when I added the rum. I whisked together as much as I could then strained the glaze and it was very tasty. We'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookntaste

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2007
This was delicious! What's so funny is, when I was just sending it to friends and re-reading it, I realized I messed up the glaze (forgot the sugar!! LOL) and it was still SO delicious! Thanks so much! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NewMommy101

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hollywood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2007
The cake turned out delicious - very moist. There must be a real trick to this glaze. I tried making it two times and each time I ended up with sugar candy crystals. Next time to make I plan to try previous suggestion by pouring glaze in bottom of cake pan and placing the cake back into bundt pan to soak up the glaze. Great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
Soooooo moist and the rum is very mild.I haven't done the glaze quite right yet,but it doesn't matter...it always tastes wonderful!! 6 stars if I could!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
I have to say I have been using this recipe for two years and have gained some noteriety for it. Whenever there is a bake sale or picnic I am asked to bring the rum cake. In fact it fetched $130 at a cake auction ! The glaze is the trickiest part but just keep sttirring and it will thicken. The nuts at the bottom of the cake become soaked with the glaze and many people have told me that is their favorite part. If you like rum- you will LOVE this cake ! YOu can always cut back on the rum in the glaze a bit if you don't like a real strong rum taste. Most of the rum cooks off though, so don't worry about getting drunk by eating this cak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUNDEVILS1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ozark, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
Fantastic cake - thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA
Living In: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
Photo by Jessica Arena
Reviewed: May 7, 2006
This rum cake came out just wonderfully. It was my first rum cake, made while hosting my first holiday, so I was more than a little nervous. I attempted the glaze 3 times, and each time I ruined it. It must either be a very fine art, or I'm a clutz, though my boyfriend couldn't do it either. We were so worried about the warning that it might make the cake mushy if not done right, so we abandoned the glaze and simply topped the cake with powdered sugar, and it was so rich and perfect I can't imagine it being any better! We used a bundt pan instead of a tub pan, and it was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Arena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodinville, Washington, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States