Mom's Rum Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
First time making rum cake and the cake itself turned out delicious and made my house smell heavenly! However, I "goofed" on the glaze. I thought I had it thick enough but when I poured the rum in, it liquified so I substituted with powdered sugar :o( Someone feel free to explain my error here...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Carota McEwen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
Thanks so much for this recipe! I just made it yesterday for a 4th of July BBQ and everyone loved it! I think I've found my new potluck dish! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
This rum cake is spectacular the only difference is that for the glaze I split the white sugar with an equal part of brown sugar and added a tsp of vanilla to make it richer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jami G

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monticello, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by icook4u
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
My 1st Rum cake. Hubby Loves them, so I made him one! It turned out PERFECT and is oh soooo good. This is a super easy cake to make and even better to eat. You can taste the rum and it is Moist. Thanks for a fab cake to add to my recipe box! It will be used many times...!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by icook4u

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
WOW! I made this for a friend's birthday. It was all I could do to keep from eating it when I got it out of the oven!! Oh my gosh, heavenly! Usually when I try recipes from the web I am disappointed, but NOT with this one! I did reduce the rum in the glaze to 1/3 cup to make it more buttery tasting and not such a strong alcohol taste. This is a REAL KEEPER!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lanham, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
Excellent, made without glaze and put powdered sugar...very moist, didn't need glaze. I used less rum than called for in recipe and it was still expectionally tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
This cake is awesome! As for the glaze--I couldn't master it so I took some confectioner's sugar and stirred it together with a little rum & water and drizzled it over the top. Just as good. I had three pieces before the day was over. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
As a non-alcoholic drinker (I am allergic) I thought the rum was too strong, but got raves that the quantity of rum was 'just right.' Leftover cake was cut up in equal pieces for guests to take home. As for the glaze, I believe I found the solution. Initially, it's very runny, but if you remove the glaze from the stove for about 20 mins, it will thicken to a manageable consistency. I followed others in inverting the cake pouring the rum glaze over it, then let it sit 30 minutes and then flipped it over, and glazed the top, dusting with powdered sugar. I used a decorative mold and the cake turned out beautifully. Just be sure you spray the mold with cooking oil first, or the cake will stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
This is an absolutely delicious rum cake. I made it for a party and everyone thought it was wonderful. The frosting is a bit tricky, just be cautious. delightfulD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dluttmann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Palm Harbor, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
Awesome! Everyone's favorite cake during the holidays! Good with gold rum or spiced...I've tried several variations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petroleum, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Spencer, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States