Mom's Rum Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
I've made this several times with great success. I've substituted lemon cake with orange cake as a change of pace. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marcus Hook, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
SO MOIST! this cake never gets dried out, it's so moist and delicious, altho i did find that the glaze with the rum needs quite a while to soak in and mellow out, otherwise it tastes very alcoholy. i would even suggest putting no rum in the glaze but puttin a little more in the cake (less water). GREAT RECIPE ive been making some for all my neighbors
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
This is a keeper.. This is my go to recipe..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommygator

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
This is FANTASTIC! I double the rum in the sauce part to give it a little extra "kick". People are always asking for the recipe. It's a great holiday treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
This was a big hit at our Thanksgiving feast! It will be a new tradition at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
I would reduce the rum a little but other than that it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
was very dry; not like Mary Nortons. She used more butter, maybe 1/2 cup (1stick)in the syrup. Mary's cake had a plate full of syrup after it was turned over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grammie cookie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
This is the same recipe for rum cake in the Cake Mix Doctor cook book, although the CMD calls for Bacardi dark rum (I use Myers). I have made it a few times now, and it is very good. This recipe calls for 1/2 cup more rum in the glaze than in the cook book version, so not sure if more is better or not. I'm sure either way, it will be a hit for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
The cake is excellent, but 3 stars because of the glaze problem. It didn't seem to be thick after 5 minutes of boiling so I boiled a little longer and then had the same problem that others have had with it turning to liquid when adding rum. I used the liquid in a powdered sugar icing and drizzled it over the top. Not as pretty as a glaze would have been, but tasted fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
This is a great & tasty rum cake recipe. BUT it isn't an original! This is the EXACT same recipe that's on the back of the Bacardi rum bottle and in their cookbook. It's been around for years! And I have been making it for years. So this is basically Bacardi's rum cake recipe with another name attached!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thisgurlluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States