Mom's Red Scalloped Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
My dad requested boxed scalloped potatoes for a birthday dinner and made this instead. They were a huge hit! All I had to use was 1 can cream of celery and 1 can cream of mushroom. I think it took longer than 10 minutes to let all the juices settle, mine came out a bit soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mary
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
OMG these were to die for!!!! I followed the actual directions and these were incredible! I can't believe someone only gave this two stars after they switched the entire recipe around. You must try this, but please follow the written instructions. My entire family loved this one and have dubbed this one of their "allrecipes.com" favorites. The only change that I recommend is to bake for 20 minutes after removing the foil, more if you want your potatoes softer. Twenty minutes uncovered after the initial baking period is perfect for scalloped consistency. I use minced garlic from a jar these days instead of dicing each time, and I used one level tablespoon. This was fabulous and easy to prepare. It doesn't get much better than this! I was concerned a bit about being too salty after sampling the spoon pre-dishwasher, but it worked out well in the end. Please do not judge this based on reviews that were written based upon alterations of this recipe. Make it as written, add at least ten more minutes of browning time at the end and you will be delighted! Thank you so very much for this wonderful addition to my "must make again" recipe files. Perfection!!!! Cream of broccoli and cream of celery-SIMPLE. Don't sub with variations including cheese, or low sodium, etc. Make this as written and you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
160 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homewood, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
Glad everyone is enjoying this recipe. FYI - you can make this with any kind of cream soup. Sometimes I use cream of chicken and cream of mushroom. I have also used jalapeno cheese for a change. And yes you do have to cook this for a while, sometimes as much as 45 min longer depending on the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by metzstar

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly except subsituting cream of mushroom for cream of broccoli. I did what other reviews said - take foil off and bake for another 10-20 minutes. This was AMAZING. I'll probably never buy boxed scalloped potatoes again. Actually, I know I won't. Sooooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calvert City, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
We added ham and frozen spinach, it was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
Needed to cook at least 20 min. longer to brown on the top. Very tasty though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
These were delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeidiB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
these are great. I did do the Cream of Mushroom intsead. I will tell you if you like your taters softer go AT LEAST 35-45 minutes longer. I plated some and tried them. I ended dumping them back in my glass dish(gross whatever, pretty sure the 350 killed all of my germs) covered them and cooked 35 minutes longer. MUCH more to my liking. STILL 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
very cheesy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This is a great recipe!! I had never made scalloped potatoes before and it was very simple. I did cook a bit longer as some of the other reviews had suggested. These will be served at our table again and again, THANKS:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Oven-Roasted Red Potatoes

See an easy recipe for roasted red potatoes.

Three-Cheese Garlic Scalloped Potatoes

See how to make cheesy, cheesy oh-so-cheesy scalloped potatoes.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States