Mom's Red Scalloped Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Mary
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
OMG these were to die for!!!! I followed the actual directions and these were incredible! I can't believe someone only gave this two stars after they switched the entire recipe around. You must try this, but please follow the written instructions. My entire family loved this one and have dubbed this one of their "allrecipes.com" favorites. The only change that I recommend is to bake for 20 minutes after removing the foil, more if you want your potatoes softer. Twenty minutes uncovered after the initial baking period is perfect for scalloped consistency. I use minced garlic from a jar these days instead of dicing each time, and I used one level tablespoon. This was fabulous and easy to prepare. It doesn't get much better than this! I was concerned a bit about being too salty after sampling the spoon pre-dishwasher, but it worked out well in the end. Please do not judge this based on reviews that were written based upon alterations of this recipe. Make it as written, add at least ten more minutes of browning time at the end and you will be delighted! Thank you so very much for this wonderful addition to my "must make again" recipe files. Perfection!!!! Cream of broccoli and cream of celery-SIMPLE. Don't sub with variations including cheese, or low sodium, etc. Make this as written and you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
160 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homewood, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly except subsituting cream of mushroom for cream of broccoli. I did what other reviews said - take foil off and bake for another 10-20 minutes. This was AMAZING. I'll probably never buy boxed scalloped potatoes again. Actually, I know I won't. Sooooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calvert City, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
My dad requested boxed scalloped potatoes for a birthday dinner and made this instead. They were a huge hit! All I had to use was 1 can cream of celery and 1 can cream of mushroom. I think it took longer than 10 minutes to let all the juices settle, mine came out a bit soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
Glad everyone is enjoying this recipe. FYI - you can make this with any kind of cream soup. Sometimes I use cream of chicken and cream of mushroom. I have also used jalapeno cheese for a change. And yes you do have to cook this for a while, sometimes as much as 45 min longer depending on the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by metzstar

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
cooking time = how thick you cut your potatos!!! I cut mine by hand so i know some peices will be a bit thicker. SO - to be safe i cook mine 1Hr & 40Min. It will not hurt this dish to cook that long. I PROMISE! Not only that, who wants to eat hard potatos??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trial & error
Reviewed: May 11, 2009
Needed to cook at least 20 min. longer to brown on the top. Very tasty though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by VALISME
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
Not the best nor worst scalloped potato recipe here. Used low sodium cream of celery and broccoli cheddar soups. Might exchange cream of mushroom with the cream of celery if I make it again. Switched oven to broil for 5 or so minutes when done to brown the cheese; and let it "settle" for at least 10 min. or so after baking, to solidify.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Outstanding! The BEST scalloped potatoes I have ever made. During the last 30 minutes I put some pork chops on top of the potatoes. I turned them after 15 minutes at which time I also laid some broccoli spears on top of them. It was a delicious meal with super easy cleanup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
We added ham and frozen spinach, it was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DomesticGoddess
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
These scalloped potatoes were quite delish!! I did however, modify the recipe somewhat. I used 8 cups of extremely thin sliced red potatoes, 1-medium yellow onion diced, and 1 medium red onion diced, 3 large cloves of garlic minced, 1/2 cup of 2% milk, 1/2 cup of half-n-half cream, added 1/2 teaspoon of salt, plus 1/4 teaspoon of black pepper. Only needed to saute' the onions for 3 minutes, then saute'd the garlic for just 1 minute. By mistake I only used 2 cups of the shredded sharp cheddar cheese, which my husband and I thought that was plenty of cheese. I also mixed together, the sliced potatoes and the soup/cheese combination, before adding it to the buttered pan. I like how that help to coat the potatoes nicely. Baked the taters for 1 hour and 25 minutes, and after removing the foil, I continued to bake the potatoes for another 10 minutes. Then let the taters set ontop the stove for 15 minutes, so they'd absorb the sauce in the pan, and sprinkled the top with some dried parsley before serving. I also wanted to add... the next time I do make these potatoes, I'll most likely substitute the cream of broccoli soup for another creamed soup. It's just a preference on my part. What a nice side dish to serve with our Sunday dinner. Thank you metzstar for sharing your recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DomesticGoddess

Displaying results 1-10 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven-Roasted Red Potatoes

See an easy recipe for roasted red potatoes.

Three-Cheese Garlic Scalloped Potatoes

See how to make cheesy, cheesy oh-so-cheesy scalloped potatoes.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States