Mom's Red Scalloped Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
This was awesome and easy. I used russets instead of red potatoes because that's what I had on hand. Didn't have broccoli soup so I took another reviewers advance and added 1/2 c. of milk. Added some smoked gouda on the top. Cooked it 45 mins longer than suggested. Great. Definately will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef41

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
This is a great recipe for scalloped potatoes. I did follow some of the other directions to leave it in the oven longer. I also used cream of cheddar soup along with cream of chicken soup. Turned out fantastic!!! I will be making this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MissM.
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly except I put less cheese on it. It was good but I added more salt afterwards. I am going to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissM.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Excellent!!! I cut the recipe in half, since there was only 2 of us, and it turned out perfect!! Even making half the recipe takes 1 hr 20mnts to cook. We just loved it and WILL make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
This was very good and easy. I skipped the last 2 cups of cheese on top, it did not need it. I used cream of celery and cream of chicken. Very good, I was surprised how it did have a similar taste to those boxed potato mixes but better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milton, Florida, USA
Living In: Black Mountain, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
This was okay. I would definitely cut the amount of cheese next time by half, and would mix the sauce and the potatoes together instead of just pouring it on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MegB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Glasgow, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Ok, this might replace our Thanksgiving mashed potatoes, we loved them that much. Made them without the onions and may try to replace it with something else, but the sauce is cheesy and delicious, and the whole dish comes out luxurious. Definitely needed the extra 20-30 minutes that everyone else suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
This is a great dish, but you must cook it longer. Or cook your potatoes before you bake it. Otherwise the potatoes are not cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milford, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
It doesn't burst with flavor, but it is a very tasty side dish that i will make again. next time i'll just shred the potatoes into the baking dish and stop when it is almost full. 8 large reds is too much for one pan. I will also stir the sauce into the potatoes next time. the recipe doesn't state so, but it is a very necessary step. The sauce is quick and easy. I'll use more garlic next time, and a Sharp cheddar to enhance the flavor more. Overall this dish was a big hit and served as a wonderful side with a steak dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ryan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Massillon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Really really good. I've made scalloped potatoes for years and this simplified the process without sacrificing any flavor whatsoever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Oven-Roasted Red Potatoes

See an easy recipe for roasted red potatoes.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

How to Make Roasted Red Potatoes

See how to make amazing oven-roasted red potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States