Mom's Red Scalloped Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
FANTASTIC! Just made it for supper and had to taste it. I didn't add a thing and the recipe is full of flavour as it is written. Thank you so much for this winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Very tasty. Russets instead, and creamy cheddar cheese soup and cream of celery. I used up a mish mash of cheeses I had around (cheddar, parmesan, mozzarella). I baked a little longer (10 mins) to ensure the potatoes were softened fully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dysprosium

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
1 word. awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Priscilla Potuck

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
I used cream of mushroom instead of cream of broccoli and russet potatoes instead only because I had neither on hand. This recipe was pretty good, but a little too salty since the soups already have salt in them. I just wasn't too impressed. I think I've tried a scalloped potatoes recipe that didn't have the soups in it and I prefer it that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
Delicious! Used cream of celery and cream of chicken but otherwise stuck to the recipe. Will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Very yummy. Couldn't stop eating them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
Excellent very creamy everyone loved then. Yum:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
Fantastic recipe. I substituted a few things only because I was out of potatoes and my milk was spoiled (ugh). I used shredded hasbhrowns for the potatoes and fat free ranch dressing for the milk and this still turned out great. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
It was good but the cream of broccoli soup over-powered the dish. I couldn't taste anything else really.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nedra Roberts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Apopka, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DomesticGoddess
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
These scalloped potatoes were quite delish!! I did however, modify the recipe somewhat. I used 8 cups of extremely thin sliced red potatoes, 1-medium yellow onion diced, and 1 medium red onion diced, 3 large cloves of garlic minced, 1/2 cup of 2% milk, 1/2 cup of half-n-half cream, added 1/2 teaspoon of salt, plus 1/4 teaspoon of black pepper. Only needed to saute' the onions for 3 minutes, then saute'd the garlic for just 1 minute. By mistake I only used 2 cups of the shredded sharp cheddar cheese, which my husband and I thought that was plenty of cheese. I also mixed together, the sliced potatoes and the soup/cheese combination, before adding it to the buttered pan. I like how that help to coat the potatoes nicely. Baked the taters for 1 hour and 25 minutes, and after removing the foil, I continued to bake the potatoes for another 10 minutes. Then let the taters set ontop the stove for 15 minutes, so they'd absorb the sauce in the pan, and sprinkled the top with some dried parsley before serving. I also wanted to add... the next time I do make these potatoes, I'll most likely substitute the cream of broccoli soup for another creamed soup. It's just a preference on my part. What a nice side dish to serve with our Sunday dinner. Thank you metzstar for sharing your recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DomesticGoddess

Displaying results 31-40 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Oven-Roasted Red Potatoes

See an easy recipe for roasted red potatoes.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

How to Make Roasted Red Potatoes

See how to make amazing oven-roasted red potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States