Mom's Red Scalloped Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Turned out great. We all loved it. We wI'll be making more often. Vary simple. Depending on your oven sometime you need to cook a little longer till potatoes are tender. If you cook is a day ahead and reheat it is even better, it thickens up and flavor soak in. Thank You
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David Tuttle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
I have just tried this recipe, and presently finishing it off in the microwave, so we can eat dinner before bed! I sliced the potatoes thinly and followed the recipe exactly, however the potatoes are still too hard for my taste after almost an hour and 10 minutes in the oven. I am thinking that red potatoes are not the best choice for making scalloped potatoes. And 45 minutes, definitely not long enough to cook them. So I may use the ingredients again, but use a different potato. In the meantime we are hungry, waiting for these darn things to soften up. I am glad I did not have company, it is just my husband and I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
I love this recipe, and best of all, my husband loves it too! I make a few changes when I make it. Instead of cream of broccoli soup, I use cream of mushroom. I also add a small can of mushrooms to the onions to saute. What really gives mine some flavor is cooking up a whole pound of bacon, and crumbling it over top of the potatoes with the cheese! I make this often, and it tastes just as good for leftovers too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Loved this recipe after I increased the eggs to 8 and kept the milk at 2C and had to add about 15 more minutes to the baking - I always add more garlic to everything so that goes without saying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Good flavor but those soups have a high sodium content. Also, I cut the slices fairly thin and it still took about 20 min longer than stated (about 1 1/2 hrs, including browning time)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
This was a winner! Differences: cream of mushroom instead of celery, because my store only had 97%fat free cream of celery and that was not going to cut it. One of the reviews suggested cream of mushroom, and so I did that instead. Used a cuisinart with the thinnest cut for the potatoes. Used 4 large russet and 4 small red potatoes. Next time I will peel the skins off, taters turned grey during cooking. Didn't taste any different, but it looked funny. Used 1 package of shredded cheddar and 1 package of shredded Italian cheese blend, wanted a deeper cheese flavor. Used a ton of garlic, prediced. Who doesn't love garlic. Also used heavy cream, why not, it's the holidays. Anyway, first time I had ever made scalloped potatoes and people were already asking for the recipe. Will keep this in my repertoire. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kitchen Kitty
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
Made it following the recipe with the exception of using 4 large russet potatoes. Delicious! Cooked it for 2 hours since our guests arrived late, but it was still good. next time though, I think i will hold off on adding the cheddar on top, it ended up creating pools of grease i had to sop up with paper towels. I will also skip the additional salt, as it was pretty salty. I microwaved some for breakfast and their still pretty tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchen Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
This is a great recipe but if you are using propaine to bake with you need to increase the baking temp to 360 degrees and the bake time to an hour and fifteen min. I also added some turkey polska kielbasa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Warren, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Clarendon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PTMUGUCA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Making these ahead of time for tomorrow night Well tonight is the night made these exactly the way the recipe called for and I did not care for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PTMUGUCA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
We did a smaller batch, just used one can of soup and about 3/4 cup milk...making the sauce on the stovetop is what makes this recipe so special! Cooking the potatoes in the rich creamy sauce for the full hour gave the perfect texture! Excellent comfort food! On the top of our list!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jazzy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duncan, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Scalloped Potatoes

Perfectly creamy scalloped potatoes, just like Mom would make.

Oven-Roasted Red Potatoes

See an easy recipe for roasted red potatoes.

Three-Cheese Garlic Scalloped Potatoes

See how to make cheesy, cheesy oh-so-cheesy scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States