Mom's Red Scalloped Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Good flavor but those soups have a high sodium content. Also, I cut the slices fairly thin and it still took about 20 min longer than stated (about 1 1/2 hrs, including browning time)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
This was a winner! Differences: cream of mushroom instead of celery, because my store only had 97%fat free cream of celery and that was not going to cut it. One of the reviews suggested cream of mushroom, and so I did that instead. Used a cuisinart with the thinnest cut for the potatoes. Used 4 large russet and 4 small red potatoes. Next time I will peel the skins off, taters turned grey during cooking. Didn't taste any different, but it looked funny. Used 1 package of shredded cheddar and 1 package of shredded Italian cheese blend, wanted a deeper cheese flavor. Used a ton of garlic, prediced. Who doesn't love garlic. Also used heavy cream, why not, it's the holidays. Anyway, first time I had ever made scalloped potatoes and people were already asking for the recipe. Will keep this in my repertoire. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kitchen Kitty
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
Made it following the recipe with the exception of using 4 large russet potatoes. Delicious! Cooked it for 2 hours since our guests arrived late, but it was still good. next time though, I think i will hold off on adding the cheddar on top, it ended up creating pools of grease i had to sop up with paper towels. I will also skip the additional salt, as it was pretty salty. I microwaved some for breakfast and their still pretty tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchen Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
This is a great recipe but if you are using propaine to bake with you need to increase the baking temp to 360 degrees and the bake time to an hour and fifteen min. I also added some turkey polska kielbasa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Warren, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Clarendon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PTMUGUCA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Making these ahead of time for tomorrow night Well tonight is the night made these exactly the way the recipe called for and I did not care for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PTMUGUCA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
We did a smaller batch, just used one can of soup and about 3/4 cup milk...making the sauce on the stovetop is what makes this recipe so special! Cooking the potatoes in the rich creamy sauce for the full hour gave the perfect texture! Excellent comfort food! On the top of our list!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jazzy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duncan, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
Delicious!!! i just used one soup and i used creamy mushroon and it still turned out tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
This was the bomb! Lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
This recipe is great! My daughter who hates boxed scalloped potatoes absolutely loved these. My husband who always says everything is okay, said they were very good. The only thing I did different was use cheddar broccoli soup instead of cream of broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
This was sooo good! I changed the recipe a little, due to time constraints and availability of ingredients. Added diced Bell pepper, and used only 1 can of cream of mushroom soup, baked in a 9x9 glass dish. I also gave the potatoes a head start by steaming them in the microwave for about 4 minutes prior to placing them in the casserole dish. Total cook time was about 35 minutes. These were so easy and delicious, would definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Stockton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven-Roasted Red Potatoes

See an easy recipe for roasted red potatoes.

Three-Cheese Garlic Scalloped Potatoes

See how to make cheesy, cheesy oh-so-cheesy scalloped potatoes.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States