Mom's Red Scalloped Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2015
These were ok not one of my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Aytes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2015
Hi have to say, my husband and I were not impressed with this dish... The recipe had quite a bit of sauce (we like sauce) just kinda tasted like it came from a can...and the cook time needed an additional 10-15 min, our potatoes were under cooked in the middle and still had the starchy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
This recipe was ok but not one I'll try again. Did follow the recipe other than just halving it since there are only two of us. Also, cooked potatoes an additional 20 minutes per other reviewers' suggestions (actually should have added at least 30-45 additional minutes as potatoes were slightly undercooked even with the additional time). Way too rich for our tastes. Thanks for posting though - love trying new recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
Okay, so I didn't follow the recipe precisely. I used red potatoes plus Yukon gold (what I had). More importantly, I subed the condensed cream soups with chicken noodle (also what I had). I used powdered milk as well. (We're not milk drinkers) It came out great! Maybe a little less creamy than otherwise due to the substitution, but both hubby and I loved it. For those whose potatoes didn't get cooked...I don't know what to say. But you can't blame the recipe for your bad potatoes! Next time I will make a run to the store for the cream soups. But in the meantime, thanks for the great recipe! It's obviously very forgiving... Oh, yeah. Re the cooking time: I did brown the top for an extra 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
This recipe was so delicious and easy to make. I loved that it basically fed an army and every person raved about it! I wouldn't change a thing! Great recipe, Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
I made these exactly as written and they were delicious. They did take about 1 1/2 hours to cook and I sliced them thin and divided into 2 containers, one of which I froze. Hoping that they hold up to the freezing. Next time I'll cut back on the butter some because with so much cheese it creates too much oil which separates out. I agree with another poster that these are Au Gratin potatoes, not scalloped. Scalloped potatoes don't have cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gremlin2033
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
I really liked this dish one thing I might add for the next time is to add crispy bacon on the top you cant ever have enough bacon lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
I believe the addition of cheese would make this au gratin as opposed to scalloped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Jackson, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
way too much sodium!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mary

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Armymom83
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
I made it today! Omg it's sooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Hinesville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Scalloped Potatoes

Perfectly creamy scalloped potatoes, just like Mom would make.

Oven-Roasted Red Potatoes

See an easy recipe for roasted red potatoes.

Three-Cheese Garlic Scalloped Potatoes

See how to make cheesy, cheesy oh-so-cheesy scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States