Mom's Red Scalloped Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
This recipe was so delicious and easy to make. I loved that it basically fed an army and every person raved about it! I wouldn't change a thing! Great recipe, Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
I made these exactly as written and they were delicious. They did take about 1 1/2 hours to cook and I sliced them thin and divided into 2 containers, one of which I froze. Hoping that they hold up to the freezing. Next time I'll cut back on the butter some because with so much cheese it creates too much oil which separates out. I agree with another poster that these are Au Gratin potatoes, not scalloped. Scalloped potatoes don't have cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gremlin2033
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
I really liked this dish one thing I might add for the next time is to add crispy bacon on the top you cant ever have enough bacon lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
I believe the addition of cheese would make this au gratin as opposed to scalloped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Jackson, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
way too much sodium!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mary

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Armymom83
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
I made it today! Omg it's sooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Hinesville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Turned out great. We all loved it. We wI'll be making more often. Vary simple. Depending on your oven sometime you need to cook a little longer till potatoes are tender. If you cook is a day ahead and reheat it is even better, it thickens up and flavor soak in. Thank You
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David Tuttle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
I have just tried this recipe, and presently finishing it off in the microwave, so we can eat dinner before bed! I sliced the potatoes thinly and followed the recipe exactly, however the potatoes are still too hard for my taste after almost an hour and 10 minutes in the oven. I am thinking that red potatoes are not the best choice for making scalloped potatoes. And 45 minutes, definitely not long enough to cook them. So I may use the ingredients again, but use a different potato. In the meantime we are hungry, waiting for these darn things to soften up. I am glad I did not have company, it is just my husband and I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
I love this recipe, and best of all, my husband loves it too! I make a few changes when I make it. Instead of cream of broccoli soup, I use cream of mushroom. I also add a small can of mushrooms to the onions to saute. What really gives mine some flavor is cooking up a whole pound of bacon, and crumbling it over top of the potatoes with the cheese! I make this often, and it tastes just as good for leftovers too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Loved this recipe after I increased the eggs to 8 and kept the milk at 2C and had to add about 15 more minutes to the baking - I always add more garlic to everything so that goes without saying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven-Roasted Red Potatoes

See an easy recipe for roasted red potatoes.

Three-Cheese Garlic Scalloped Potatoes

See how to make cheesy, cheesy oh-so-cheesy scalloped potatoes.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States