Mom's Red Scalloped Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by DianeLynn
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
I just made these potatoes. I did tweak the recipe a little. I used Cheddar cheese, not American - I don't know if I can get shredded American cheese around here. I used minced garlic, not garlic powder (and a much smaller amount). And I added the bacon to the top with the parmesan cheese. They tasted a little too greasy, almost like there was too much butter in with them (NO butter was used). I greased the pan with shortening, now that could have caused my problem (maybe I should have used a spray shortening). Did anyone else have this problem? Does anyone have a suggestion has to what caused this? Any suggestion how I can switch it up to have this not happen the next time. We really liked the tasted and they were easy to make. Could it have been the Cheddar cheese? I would like to be able to make these to take them to dinners and pot-luck parties. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
I used 2 cans of cream of mushroom and or cream of chicken, both tasted great. Plus both times I used motzerella instead of cheddar also added parsley on top to pretty it up. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
I made this exactly as it was written and I will be removing it from my recipe box. The potatoes were cruncy after 45 minutes, so I bumped up the temp to 400 and cooked an additional 30 minutes. They were still hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Oviedo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
In order to get a consistent thickness, you really need a mandolin slicer. With the thinnest I could reasonably slice them without one it took closer to 75-90min to cook. More time to cook potatoes but not so long that they get soggy. Also, try cream of chicken soup instead of broccoli or celery. Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Awesome...used mushroom soup...definitely will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Loved it, Loved it! This dish is wonderful and so delish, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
This recipe was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
My husband loved it! Had several older red potatoes leftover from our garden and used them all in this recipe. One whole large sweet onion and several cloves of garlic. Almost used broccoli & cheese, as I didn't think I had enough cheddar cheese, but glad I didn't. The cream of broccoli & celery were great. I bet it would be wonderful with cream of mushroom, too! Nearly filled my Dutch oven! I cooked as stated, as the potatoes were cut thin, but still hadn't browned, so turned oven to broil & browned the top nicely in a few minutes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Manassas, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fairfield, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
the potatoes were hard after cooking for one hour at the listed temp. Not edible. Nice flavor and had the potatoes not been hard it would have been good. Not likely to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soccerdad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peachtree City, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
All of the stellar reviews for this weren't exaggerating! It was fantastic, according to both the wife and me!!! I followed the recipe exactly, with the exception of not buttering the dish first, but only because I forgot before layering in the potatoes. As it turns out, there was no need! Oh yes, I did use everyone else's "adapted directions" and extended the uncovered baking time to 20 or 25 minutes. So perfect! Also, it's just the two of us, so I actually split the recipe into two smaller pyrex dishes and put one in the freezer (pre-baking). We'll see how that one turns out another day. UPDATE- the frozen pan may have been a tiny step down from the original, but worked like a charm and was still delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dahlonega, Georgia, USA
Living In: Notasulga, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven-Roasted Red Potatoes

See an easy recipe for roasted red potatoes.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

How to Make Roasted Red Potatoes

See how to make amazing oven-roasted red potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States