Mom's Red Scalloped Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
We did a smaller batch, just used one can of soup and about 3/4 cup milk...making the sauce on the stovetop is what makes this recipe so special! Cooking the potatoes in the rich creamy sauce for the full hour gave the perfect texture! Excellent comfort food! On the top of our list!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jazzy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duncan, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
Delicious!!! i just used one soup and i used creamy mushroon and it still turned out tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
This was the bomb! Lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
This recipe is great! My daughter who hates boxed scalloped potatoes absolutely loved these. My husband who always says everything is okay, said they were very good. The only thing I did different was use cheddar broccoli soup instead of cream of broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
This was sooo good! I changed the recipe a little, due to time constraints and availability of ingredients. Added diced Bell pepper, and used only 1 can of cream of mushroom soup, baked in a 9x9 glass dish. I also gave the potatoes a head start by steaming them in the microwave for about 4 minutes prior to placing them in the casserole dish. Total cook time was about 35 minutes. These were so easy and delicious, would definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Stockton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
can't put my finger on what it was that was a little off. i think if i played with the recipe a little, it could be a 5 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DeeDeePA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
I just made these potatoes. I did tweak the recipe a little. I used Cheddar cheese, not American - I don't know if I can get shredded American cheese around here. I used minced garlic, not garlic powder (and a much smaller amount). And I added the bacon to the top with the parmesan cheese. They tasted a little too greasy, almost like there was too much butter in with them (NO butter was used). I greased the pan with shortening, now that could have caused my problem (maybe I should have used a spray shortening). Did anyone else have this problem? Does anyone have a suggestion has to what caused this? Any suggestion how I can switch it up to have this not happen the next time. We really liked the tasted and they were easy to make. Could it have been the Cheddar cheese? I would like to be able to make these to take them to dinners and pot-luck parties. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
I used 2 cans of cream of mushroom and or cream of chicken, both tasted great. Plus both times I used motzerella instead of cheddar also added parsley on top to pretty it up. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
I made this exactly as it was written and I will be removing it from my recipe box. The potatoes were cruncy after 45 minutes, so I bumped up the temp to 400 and cooked an additional 30 minutes. They were still hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Oviedo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
In order to get a consistent thickness, you really need a mandolin slicer. With the thinnest I could reasonably slice them without one it took closer to 75-90min to cook. More time to cook potatoes but not so long that they get soggy. Also, try cream of chicken soup instead of broccoli or celery. Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Oven-Roasted Red Potatoes

See an easy recipe for roasted red potatoes.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

How to Make Roasted Red Potatoes

See how to make amazing oven-roasted red potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States