Mom's Red Scalloped Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 11, 2009
Needed to cook at least 20 min. longer to brown on the top. Very tasty though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by VALISME
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
Not the best nor worst scalloped potato recipe here. Used low sodium cream of celery and broccoli cheddar soups. Might exchange cream of mushroom with the cream of celery if I make it again. Switched oven to broil for 5 or so minutes when done to brown the cheese; and let it "settle" for at least 10 min. or so after baking, to solidify.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
My dad requested boxed scalloped potatoes for a birthday dinner and made this instead. They were a huge hit! All I had to use was 1 can cream of celery and 1 can cream of mushroom. I think it took longer than 10 minutes to let all the juices settle, mine came out a bit soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
We added ham and frozen spinach, it was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
These were pretty good. Very rich! Definitely needed about 20 minutes extra cooking time. Tasted similar to a broccoli cheese soup with potatoes. Not a bad thing but maybe a bit too rich for our tastes. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Chase Simon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
used broccoli cheese & cream of asparagus & white potatoes and was not pleased but my wife did like it. It's erased from my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Santa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mary
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
OMG these were to die for!!!! I followed the actual directions and these were incredible! I can't believe someone only gave this two stars after they switched the entire recipe around. You must try this, but please follow the written instructions. My entire family loved this one and have dubbed this one of their "allrecipes.com" favorites. The only change that I recommend is to bake for 20 minutes after removing the foil, more if you want your potatoes softer. Twenty minutes uncovered after the initial baking period is perfect for scalloped consistency. I use minced garlic from a jar these days instead of dicing each time, and I used one level tablespoon. This was fabulous and easy to prepare. It doesn't get much better than this! I was concerned a bit about being too salty after sampling the spoon pre-dishwasher, but it worked out well in the end. Please do not judge this based on reviews that were written based upon alterations of this recipe. Make it as written, add at least ten more minutes of browning time at the end and you will be delighted! Thank you so very much for this wonderful addition to my "must make again" recipe files. Perfection!!!! Cream of broccoli and cream of celery-SIMPLE. Don't sub with variations including cheese, or low sodium, etc. Make this as written and you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homewood, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
Definitely needs 20-30 minutes more cook time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
These were delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeidiB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
Glad everyone is enjoying this recipe. FYI - you can make this with any kind of cream soup. Sometimes I use cream of chicken and cream of mushroom. I have also used jalapeno cheese for a change. And yes you do have to cook this for a while, sometimes as much as 45 min longer depending on the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by metzstar

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Oven-Roasted Red Potatoes

See an easy recipe for roasted red potatoes.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

How to Make Roasted Red Potatoes

See how to make amazing oven-roasted red potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States