Mom's Red Scalloped Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
I made these exactly as written and they were delicious. They did take about 1 1/2 hours to cook and I sliced them thin and divided into 2 containers, one of which I froze. Hoping that they hold up to the freezing. Next time I'll cut back on the butter some because with so much cheese it creates too much oil which separates out. I agree with another poster that these are Au Gratin potatoes, not scalloped. Scalloped potatoes don't have cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gremlin2033
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
I really liked this dish one thing I might add for the next time is to add crispy bacon on the top you cant ever have enough bacon lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
I believe the addition of cheese would make this au gratin as opposed to scalloped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Jackson, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
way too much sodium!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mary

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Armymom83
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
I made it today! Omg it's sooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Hinesville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Turned out great. We all loved it. We wI'll be making more often. Vary simple. Depending on your oven sometime you need to cook a little longer till potatoes are tender. If you cook is a day ahead and reheat it is even better, it thickens up and flavor soak in. Thank You
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David Tuttle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
I have just tried this recipe, and presently finishing it off in the microwave, so we can eat dinner before bed! I sliced the potatoes thinly and followed the recipe exactly, however the potatoes are still too hard for my taste after almost an hour and 10 minutes in the oven. I am thinking that red potatoes are not the best choice for making scalloped potatoes. And 45 minutes, definitely not long enough to cook them. So I may use the ingredients again, but use a different potato. In the meantime we are hungry, waiting for these darn things to soften up. I am glad I did not have company, it is just my husband and I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
I love this recipe, and best of all, my husband loves it too! I make a few changes when I make it. Instead of cream of broccoli soup, I use cream of mushroom. I also add a small can of mushrooms to the onions to saute. What really gives mine some flavor is cooking up a whole pound of bacon, and crumbling it over top of the potatoes with the cheese! I make this often, and it tastes just as good for leftovers too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Loved this recipe after I increased the eggs to 8 and kept the milk at 2C and had to add about 15 more minutes to the baking - I always add more garlic to everything so that goes without saying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Good flavor but those soups have a high sodium content. Also, I cut the slices fairly thin and it still took about 20 min longer than stated (about 1 1/2 hrs, including browning time)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven-Roasted Red Potatoes

See an easy recipe for roasted red potatoes.

Three-Cheese Garlic Scalloped Potatoes

See how to make cheesy, cheesy oh-so-cheesy scalloped potatoes.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States