Mom's Ranger Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
I have made these cookies for years, and they are a family favorite. One thing I do to make them extra good, is to make a glaze of confectioner's sugar and fresh orange juice and frost each cookie. It adds a wonderful flavor, and a little moistness to the cookies. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Lancaster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
This recipe has also been passed down from my Great Grandmother & is a family favorite. We always called them Texas Ranger Cookies, although no one from my family has ever lived in TX. Instead of butter my family recipe calls for 1 cup shortening (either plain or butter flavor). The corn flakes (2 full cups) need to be coarsely crushed (put in plastic bag & roll a can, bottle or rolling pin over the bag). We typically add a full cup of coconut & 1 cup raisins as well. The recipe doubles easily when making for the holidays & giving to a lot of friends. These cookies don't have to be soft if you prefer a crisper cookie; we've done both to satisfy different palates in the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
quick to make, and very tasty. To make clean-up easier, I simply mixed the first ingredients, then added the dry in the same bowl. It was a one bowl cookie. Added raisins since they were on hand. Kids loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I used all of the same ingredients and added Craisins (we like the tartness of them). They were fabulous. I didn't have regular corn flakes but the sugar frosted flakes worked just great as well. Quick and easy to make and quick to bake and cool for a last minute cookie if need be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy H

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deanna McCoy
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
These are wonderfully fabulous! Soft, but interestingly crispy texture. I read the other reviews & couldn't help but giggle. There is NO WAY these could have gotten a bad review - not to be offensive, but they do not taste like baking soda & are not dry at all. I respectfully feel that it's a possibility there was a mismeasurement & some over-cooking going on. Tasty tasty tasty! I will make these again & again. The add in of the chocolate chips was genious & I will definitely try the Craisins add-in next. These little honies are magicians with a good disappearing act around my house! P.S. That's my photo featured on this recipe ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deanna McCoy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
I found that these had way too much baking soda, it is almost all I can taste :( I can tell that with the soda reduced though they will be amazing so I will be trying it again but maybe with only 1 tsp of soda
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niroszyckame

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Slave Lake, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
Not as good as my Betty Crocker recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
These were just ok. I mean, any cookie is good, but I wouldn't make these again. I felt like the cornflake texture was "stale" in the cookie and my cornflakes were not stale!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
These were just mediocre. I found them to be very dry. Nothing special at all. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Mom's Chocolate Chip Cookies

Vanilla pudding mix is the easy secret to making these rich-tasting cookies.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States