Mom's Raisin Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2006
I made these a couple of days ago, and they turned out pretty good. The only reason I didn't mark them as 5-star was because they seemed to crisp and burn very, very easily. I wound up having to turn my oven down by at least 10 degrees and lower the cooking time by 2 minutes from the low time given in the recipe in order to not get crisp, dark brown edges. That being said, however, they all vanished quite quickly when I took them to work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2002
Although easy, not enough raisins or oatmeal. I'll add another 1/2 cup of each next time. And I found that scoops made with a small size ice cream scoop baked for exactly 15 minutes on a Silpat sheet turned out beautifully and stayed soft the next day (once cooled, I stored in a Ziploc bag)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
Basic but effective! My first time baking O.R. cookies. I read some reviews first and made the following adjustments: Added a bit more oatmeal and raisins, in addition to the oil, added 1/4 cup melted/softened butter, added a little more brown sugar, reduced temp to 350, watched baking closely...removed from oven when edges got dark brown. Tops looked as if they may not be cooked through but they were. They are great!! They're very soft and chewy, with the perfect amount of sweetness. Good job on a simple recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2005
these are great cookies, i just made them and WOW! every easy and very good. my fav oatmeal cookie so far.. the brwon sugar and cinnamon are great. next time i make them i was thinking of throwing some bananas in there .. but even with out adding anything else .. great.. my daughter and i are in love :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
These were pretty good. Not outstanding, never stop eating, no other recipe great, but they were pretty good. But for only 100 calories and 3.5 grams of fat, they were very tasty. I used egg substitute instead of egg, and baking raisins ( more moist) and these were delicious. Beware, after just a small amount of time in the oven they look very done, but they're not. They've just turned color, but they're not burnt. Even better, these cookies slid right off the cookie sheet, and the cleanup was quite easy. Overall, good recipe. I would recommend it if you're looking for a fairly quick, easy recipe that tastes good and is pretty health-conscious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
Your basic oatmeal-raisin cookie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beckerkorn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
I just made these, and they are a 5 star! I loved them! I didn't change anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Capri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
I liked them but the recipe was very bland. I would add another 1/2 to 1 cup of sugar and I bet it would be a 5 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jasmine Stephens

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2002
very easy and quick, absolutely wholesome with oats and oil (I used olive oil), but great taste indeed, expecially if eaten while cooling. I'll just see how it keeps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Turned out great. I used baking raisins so it helped keep moist and chewy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sharon6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grant Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Griffith, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States