Mom's Raisin Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Turned out great. I used baking raisins so it helped keep moist and chewy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sharon6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grant Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Griffith, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I had such a craving for oatmeal cookies and this hit the spot. The recipe is very easy, and when I ate my first one, I thought something was missing. But after I let them cool, they were very good. In turned the temp. down to 350 and added a little more oatmeal and cinnamon. Will make again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westminster, Maryland, USA
Living In: Oakland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Made this recipe and they are the best I have ever made...done others but nothing close to Mom's recipe, I even added some pecans. They are so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Ramona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
good cookie but just not sweet enough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
These are soft with a perfect little crisp on the outside (so therefore not cakey) and they have a great flavor. Also not gummy and chewy like some oatmeal cookies end up. Best recipe I've found so far! BUT you should know that I made two HUGE changes: I halved the amount of brown sugar and added a few teaspoons of white sugar plus cranberries and white chocolate chips for sweetness instead (1/4 cup of each). My family doesn't like desserts that are overly sweet. With this adjustment to meet my own personal taste, these were great! Also, I didn't have quick oats and only had rolled oats. I think this added to the texture though. Loved this as a base for my crazy version haha. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beebittersweet91

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
Made these last night after reading the reviews. I'm sorry I didn't pay more attention to the reviews. These are horrible! They're extremely dry and not at ALL what an oatmeal cookie should be. I'm going to salvage mine by mixing up a batch of buttercream flavored with cinnamon and either frosting them or making them into whoopie pies. I can't possibly serve them to guests in their current state. I didn't have any issues with them burning, since I reduced the oven temp to 350 after reading the reviews. I also added nuts and more raisins. What a waste of time and money.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommy3
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
My 11 yr old son requested Oatmeal Raisin Cookies:) So I chose this recipe. I read the reviews and gave it a twist as well. I used Instant Oatmeal packets we had on hand. 5 maple brown sugar,3 cinnamon apple,and 2 cinnamon roll. Added 1/4 c butter, 1/2 c apple sauce. 350* and baked for 12 min exactly! I am just beside myself at how Phenomenal these cookies came out!! I can't wait to surprise him with them after school today! Thanks, Sassy, you made my day ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommy3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covina, California, USA
Living In: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Delish! Glad to see a recipie that doesn't call for butter/margerine. I did take the advice of other reviews & add a 1/2 cup more oatmeal & raisins. Also lowered oven to 350. Very pleased with results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Will not make again. More like a scone than a cookie and VERY dry. Dissapointing. The flavor was ok, but the texture was awful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
I too modified this recipe. I used almond extract instead of vanilla, added 1c of white chocolate chips, added 1/4c more brown sugar, 1/4c more oats, and finally topped cookies with almond slivers before pacing in oven. Because of the extra oats and brown sugar I had to add a bit more oil and milk to get right consistency for dough. So good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary-emma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States