Mom's Raisin Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Turned out great. I used baking raisins so it helped keep moist and chewy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sharon6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grant Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Griffith, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I had such a craving for oatmeal cookies and this hit the spot. The recipe is very easy, and when I ate my first one, I thought something was missing. But after I let them cool, they were very good. In turned the temp. down to 350 and added a little more oatmeal and cinnamon. Will make again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westminster, Maryland, USA
Living In: Oakland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Made this recipe and they are the best I have ever made...done others but nothing close to Mom's recipe, I even added some pecans. They are so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Ramona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
good cookie but just not sweet enough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
These are soft with a perfect little crisp on the outside (so therefore not cakey) and they have a great flavor. Also not gummy and chewy like some oatmeal cookies end up. Best recipe I've found so far! BUT you should know that I made two HUGE changes: I halved the amount of brown sugar and added a few teaspoons of white sugar plus cranberries and white chocolate chips for sweetness instead (1/4 cup of each). My family doesn't like desserts that are overly sweet. With this adjustment to meet my own personal taste, these were great! Also, I didn't have quick oats and only had rolled oats. I think this added to the texture though. Loved this as a base for my crazy version haha. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beebittersweet91

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
Made these last night after reading the reviews. I'm sorry I didn't pay more attention to the reviews. These are horrible! They're extremely dry and not at ALL what an oatmeal cookie should be. I'm going to salvage mine by mixing up a batch of buttercream flavored with cinnamon and either frosting them or making them into whoopie pies. I can't possibly serve them to guests in their current state. I didn't have any issues with them burning, since I reduced the oven temp to 350 after reading the reviews. I also added nuts and more raisins. What a waste of time and money.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommy3
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
My 11 yr old son requested Oatmeal Raisin Cookies:) So I chose this recipe. I read the reviews and gave it a twist as well. I used Instant Oatmeal packets we had on hand. 5 maple brown sugar,3 cinnamon apple,and 2 cinnamon roll. Added 1/4 c butter, 1/2 c apple sauce. 350* and baked for 12 min exactly! I am just beside myself at how Phenomenal these cookies came out!! I can't wait to surprise him with them after school today! Thanks, Sassy, you made my day ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommy3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covina, California, USA
Living In: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Delish! Glad to see a recipie that doesn't call for butter/margerine. I did take the advice of other reviews & add a 1/2 cup more oatmeal & raisins. Also lowered oven to 350. Very pleased with results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Will not make again. More like a scone than a cookie and VERY dry. Dissapointing. The flavor was ok, but the texture was awful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
I too modified this recipe. I used almond extract instead of vanilla, added 1c of white chocolate chips, added 1/4c more brown sugar, 1/4c more oats, and finally topped cookies with almond slivers before pacing in oven. Because of the extra oats and brown sugar I had to add a bit more oil and milk to get right consistency for dough. So good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary-emma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States