Mom's Raisin Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
Basic but effective! My first time baking O.R. cookies. I read some reviews first and made the following adjustments: Added a bit more oatmeal and raisins, in addition to the oil, added 1/4 cup melted/softened butter, added a little more brown sugar, reduced temp to 350, watched baking closely...removed from oven when edges got dark brown. Tops looked as if they may not be cooked through but they were. They are great!! They're very soft and chewy, with the perfect amount of sweetness. Good job on a simple recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
I don't know what every one did wrong but this recipe is Awesome! The only thing that I did differently was watch the cookies closely and they baked in about 12 min. I also added some dried cherries with golden raisins (to equal the original measurement of 1 cup)to the second batch! Really soft, chewy cookies! Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
Your basic oatmeal-raisin cookie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beckerkorn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
This tasted good, I did add half a cup of white sugar. The cookies did turn very hard very fast, next time I will get it straight in a ziploc bag after cooling a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
These cookies did not go over well. They taste like a regular choc. chip cookie only sub rasins. I agree they were very very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
wow! This is the real deal classic! yummy as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2006
I made these a couple of days ago, and they turned out pretty good. The only reason I didn't mark them as 5-star was because they seemed to crisp and burn very, very easily. I wound up having to turn my oven down by at least 10 degrees and lower the cooking time by 2 minutes from the low time given in the recipe in order to not get crisp, dark brown edges. That being said, however, they all vanished quite quickly when I took them to work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
it was a good idea but turns out to be more of a muffin top cookie than the oatmeal cookies from my childhood instead of the spice it calls for i added allspice for a lil kick it was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
I liked them but the recipe was very bland. I would add another 1/2 to 1 cup of sugar and I bet it would be a 5 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
The many times I tried this they still didn't taste anything like a real oatmeal cookie to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States