Mom's Quick Pasta Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2005
We have reviewed this recipe for errors, and it should actually call for only 1 package of onion soup mix. We apologize for the inconvenience!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
I have finally found a wonderful homemade sauce!! This recipe was PERFECT, I would not change a thing. At first I thought I wouldn't have enough sauce for a whole box of pasta, but as it turned out there was some leftover. YUM.... will definitely make this again. Very diet friendly for my weight watchers core plan too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2001
I am a novice cook and this dish was delicious and SO easy to make. I cut down on the onion mix packets and just used 3 packets and will know better next time to go easier on the salt. I also added some red bell peppers to the sauce and it turned out thick and flavorful - will definitely make it again. Since I live alone I froze the rest but I'm looking forward to finally being able to invite friends over for dinner! I cooked it with a slow cooker, too, and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
Very tasty sauce. I added sliced fresh mushrooms and a can of fire roasted diced tomatoes with garlic because of other reviews that said the sauce needed to be more tomato-ey. Also a little wine to boost the flavor and some additional oregano & basil because of the extra tomatoes. I would suggest simmering for longer than "until heated" - about 20-30 minutes - to avoid any crunchiness from the dry onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
Made this sauce with meatballs instead. 3/4 package of Onion soup mix and a little more water. This sauce is Stupid Good!!! The whole family loved it!!!! The 12 year old thought it was great!! I would use the entire 1oz package of soup mix if I used the ground beef. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hutch

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marion, Indiana, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Tried this once and thought it was VERY delicious. No more store bought bottled sauces for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I use the same ingredients except I chop fresh onions and bell peppers instead of the onion soup mix, I use 2 cans of tomato sauce instead of one, I add a can of stewed tomatoes and I use dried Italian Seasoning instead of the Oregano (I do add additional dried Basil as the recipe suggests). It only takes an additional 5-7 minutes of prep time, but it makes all the difference in the world. Another secret of mine is to use Worcestershire Sauce while browning the ground beef and I sweat the onions and bell peppers in 2 tablespoons of Olive Oil before adding the meat to brown. This makes the meat so much more flavorful. Oh, and I would omit the water and add a teaspoon of sugar to cut the acidity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody aka Dumplin'

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Prairieville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
With the changed recipe(adding only one onoin soup mix) the results turned out fantastic for a base sauce. I like a few more things in mine(more garlic, mushrooms and veggies,diced tomatoes, wine or beer or both...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by justlettingyouknow

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2005
I added only 2 packages of the soup mix when I tasted it YIKES!!!! I added about 4 more cans of tomato product trying to dilute all that salt. DISGUSTING!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
OMGosh!!!! tried it and loved it, the second time I made it I added a few extra ingredients, onion,bell pepper,deleted the beef and added salami!!! this is truly the basics for a quick and easy dinner... I now double the recipe and FREEZE some for the truly hectic evening,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

World's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato sauce for your favorite pasta.

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States