Mom's Quick Pasta Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
Pretty good and quick to make. We like the Best Marinara Sauce recipe better, but this one is nice because it doesn't require wine. If I have to buy one bottle of wine... I have to buy two. I just can't make it out of the wine store without at least two bottles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Stone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Binghamton, New York, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
Very tasty sauce. I added sliced fresh mushrooms and a can of fire roasted diced tomatoes with garlic because of other reviews that said the sauce needed to be more tomato-ey. Also a little wine to boost the flavor and some additional oregano & basil because of the extra tomatoes. I would suggest simmering for longer than "until heated" - about 20-30 minutes - to avoid any crunchiness from the dry onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
Was pretty good but it needed to be more tomatoey...i also used mild italian sausage instead of the ground beef that was yummy....next time i will put more tomatoes in it. ..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
I have finally found a wonderful homemade sauce!! This recipe was PERFECT, I would not change a thing. At first I thought I wouldn't have enough sauce for a whole box of pasta, but as it turned out there was some leftover. YUM.... will definitely make this again. Very diet friendly for my weight watchers core plan too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MAWARNE
Reviewed: May 23, 2006
Didnt have the dry onion soup mix but it was still tasty. Added button mushroom and lots of diced yellow onion. Had it with vermicelli pasta. Yummmy! View pic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAWARNE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2005
We have reviewed this recipe for errors, and it should actually call for only 1 package of onion soup mix. We apologize for the inconvenience!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2005
I added only 2 packages of the soup mix when I tasted it YIKES!!!! I added about 4 more cans of tomato product trying to dilute all that salt. DISGUSTING!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2004
This was pretty darn good...much better than my usual "buy it in a jar" method! I will definately add this to my recipe box. Next time I may add some mushrooms or other veggies - nice solid recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2004
This sauce was way too salty even for me and I love salt. I had only put in 3 packs of onion mix also so I could not imagine what a 4th would have tasted like. I ended up adding about 3/4 c of brown sugar to compensate for all the salt. Once I did that it was pretty good but still a little on the salty side...perhaps cut down the onion mix to 2 packets and no need to add any salt after that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenner, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2003
I halved the recipe and added a can of crushed tomatoes. I think next time I will half the recipe and use only 1 package of onion soup mix. It was a little bit too much onion with two packages. thanks for offering! Its great in a pinch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

World's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato sauce for your favorite pasta.

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States