Mom's Quick Pasta Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Delicious and so easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
Way to salty for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by milo1898
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
I have been making the same recipe for years now but without the onion soup. Instead I sautee onions and green peppers in olive oil, the same as Melody aka Dumpling. I do not add the salami, though, but it does sound good. This is a basic recipe and once you have all of this made as the recipe calls for, you can add different ingredients to it. I love the easy, quick way this cooks up and it looks and tastes out of this world. And I thought I made it up! I guess others make it the same way I do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Epuddle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Took the advice of Melody aka Dumplin' with the exception of the salami and sugar. Perfect sauce. The family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
Quick to make, tastes great, easy! Can't wait to try it in lasagna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
I have been looking for a good basic meat sauce recipe and this is the one! I made two changes in ingredients. I didn't add the salt because the onion soup mix had enough, and I added mushrooms just because I like them in meat sauce. I also ended up simmering the sauce for about an hour. Next time I will double the recipe because we like extra sauce and leftovers. This is a good sauce to add on-hand items. My husband wants to try it with some red pepper flakes next time for some spice. I think adding other veggies, wine, sausage might be good too, but it was still great per recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
I have been making a sauce similar to this for many years, but this was excellent. I added one thing, 3 or 4 oz. of hard salami chopped very fine, it adds an interesting flavor to an already very good sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msouleusa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA
Living In: Parksville, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I use the same ingredients except I chop fresh onions and bell peppers instead of the onion soup mix, I use 2 cans of tomato sauce instead of one, I add a can of stewed tomatoes and I use dried Italian Seasoning instead of the Oregano (I do add additional dried Basil as the recipe suggests). It only takes an additional 5-7 minutes of prep time, but it makes all the difference in the world. Another secret of mine is to use Worcestershire Sauce while browning the ground beef and I sweat the onions and bell peppers in 2 tablespoons of Olive Oil before adding the meat to brown. This makes the meat so much more flavorful. Oh, and I would omit the water and add a teaspoon of sugar to cut the acidity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody Dumplin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Prairieville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I added 1 green pepper and 1 onion diced and sauteed in olive oil or canola oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I liked it very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Desiree Hernandeez

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

World's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato sauce for your favorite pasta.

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States