Mom's Purple-Hull Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
Just picked purple hulls are the best. If you live in the south you can get them at local farmers market, road side stand or friend/family garden. Fresh tender baby okra pods are best. I leave out the sugar, baking soda and sub ham for bacon. Occasionally add some chopped onion to pot and top with chopped fresh ripe tomatoes/green tomato relish. Server with hot, buttermilk cornbread(stone ground white cornmeal) and fried chicken or pork chops. Comfort food from childhood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Union City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
I alternated by leaving out the sugar and waited until the last 10 minutes to add the okra. I like mine to still be whole and with a little firmness. The smaller the okra the better. Goes well with pork loin, pork chops and cornbread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JudyJean

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Awesome flavor. Did not use okra, otherwise I followed the recipe. Fresh peas rule!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
I used fresh purple hull peas from my garden. I also use more sugar, like 1/8 cup. This is VERY good. I use Tony's more spice for the seasoning. At times, I use a drop or two of liquid smoke.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stillwater, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Deridder, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
Delicious without the okra! Don't know about with the okra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Stewart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Henderson, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
These are good, but need much more salt. I used Splenda instead of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I didn't have any okra, and the only changes I made was doubling the sugar and soda. Can you say DEE-LISH-US! A very fresh tasting, slightly sweet dish that melted in our mouths.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
My family and I love this recipe!! My husband was eating it out of the pot. I added Okra a little later and also more salt. Instead of bacon, I used ham hocks - just as delicious :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Used fresh purple hull peas bought at the farmers market. Followed the receipe exactly, except left out the okra - don't like slimy okra! Peas were fantastic and yummy! Served with cornbread, grilled pork loin roast, fried okra and fried tomatoes....yummy summertime vege dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I've had purple hull peas before and didn't like them. My in laws planted a huge garden this year and have a bumper crop of them. With much encouragement, I picked a mess and prepared them using this recipe, no changes. Yes, you guessed it, I love them! My mother -in-law is tickled pink, she didn't want to be the only one harvesting this crop! Thanks for the recipe:))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States