Mom's Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
The only reason I didn't give this a better rating is because I haven't tasted it yet. It's in the oven now and my house smells amazing! It looks delicious and I can't wait. It did make way more than enough so I just put the remainder in a loaf pan and it's in the oven as well. This pie is also much more presentable than a "pie-in-a-can" pie. I just checked it and hated that I had to stick a knife in the middle of it! My pies usually crack but not this one! EDIT:I'm making this pie for a second time today because the first one was that amazing. I'm making this one for a friend (we're trading a pumpkin roll for a pumpkin pie) and I'm making another one for my family tonight. It's fantastic! The only thing I didn't enjoy last time was that the pumpkin layer was too thin (my crust was just way too thick). Also instead of using ginger and cloves I used 1/2 teaspoon of nutmeg and a whole teaspoon of cinnamon. FABULOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longview, Washington, USA
Living In: Rogers, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
My sister-in-law in New Zealand had never heard of pumpkin pie. So while I was visiting her and my brother, I pulled up this recipe for her. Her first ever pumpkin pie turned out flawless!!! We surprised my brother with it when he came home from work, and he made "yummy" sounds with every bite! This recipe was quick and easy, and tasted incredible. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westover, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
To make it extra rich, I use half and half for all the liquid. I don't bother straining my homemade pumpkin puree for lumps. The texture adds to the homemade quality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Festie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Giid base wwwwaaaaaayyyyyyy to many spices, I like pumpkin pies that have a subtle amount of spices so they dont over power the pallet, I dont know if my taste buds are just really sensitive or what but it is a good base and play with the rest until its just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Masha
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
Simple, quick, and easily made from ingredients found in the pantry and fridge. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Errantdreams

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
This is a great recipe! Super simple to prepare. I did follow the advice of some of the other reviewers: reduced milk to 1 cup, and added an extra 1/4tsp more of each spice item; I might try reducing the milk/cream more the next time for a denser consistency. I also found it tasted better after refrigeration. This recipe does make 2 pies! The more the merrier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nomnomnom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
This is a great receipe, I used sweet potatoes instead of pumpkin, which we like just as well. I have also have used butternut squash which makes a better pie than anything else. I have my oven at 350 instead of 425. Bake for an hour & I use a 10 inch pie pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morland, Kansas, USA
Living In: Alamo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
I made the pie exactly as written. It was very good, and the only reason I'm not giving it a 5 is because it wasn't the absolute BEST pumpkin pie I've ever had - but it was good and I would recommend it. :O)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Billie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
This is my 'go to' pumpkin pie recipe. I usually up the spices a little bit, just because I like having that much flavour. I'm a hardcore whipped cream and chilled pumpkin pie person - but this pie is so delicious, I can just eat it plain and room temperature! Most times I can't wait for it to cool off, I want to eat it right away. Goes great as tarts too, try putting pecans in (yum!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. Taylor

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
I always thought pumpkin pie was boring, so I made this one for my husband as it's his favorite and it's not in the boring category anymore! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Princess Beebe

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States