Mom's Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
I am not a huge pumpkin pie fan, but after this recipe, I've changed my mind. It was excellent. Did use fresh pumpkin and made a homemade crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Clayton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
So good!! I love that it's all fresh ingredients, no canned milk or pumpkin, pumpkin pie spice etc. I roasted my pumpkin and then pureed in the blender. I think I may cut down on the milk a tad and add a little extra spice, but as is, it's still a 5 star recipe. To do this recipe justice I made pie crust and whipped cream from scratch too! I think I can get 2 pies from this, as I filled the shell to the top and had a lot left over! I'm impressed and can't wait to show off my new skills this season :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waco, Texas, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
I am not sure what went wrong, but the filling never set, the exposed crust was well done (a little burnt) after leaving the pie in 10 minutes longer than suggested. Oven temperature verfied. I feel the liquid (milk and heavy cream) was 1/2 cup too much perhaps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Delicious. I got two pies out of the one recipe. I was happy that this didn't take evaporated milk because I was out and didn't want to make a trip out to the store. I added extra spices because we like our pumpkin pie a little spicy. Served with some homemade whipped cream. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Very good! My husband says it has just the right combo of spice. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
i tried this recipe for thanksgiving, everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I doubled this recipe b/c I wanted to make 2 pies, but found that I had enough filling for more then 3 pies. I baked 2 pies in my shells and just baked the rest in a casserole dish...made a yummy custard! It set up very well, pies baked for ten min. @ 425° then nearly an hour at 350°...came out perfect. So I wish the recipe was labeled as is for 2 small pies...and I agree w/ some reviewers that 1 cup of milk is probably plenty. Spiciness was just right, it also depends on the age/potency of your spices...they don't keep forever! Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
This recipe makes TWO 9-inch pies, not 1. Probably good info to have before starting to make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Pumpkin pie is my favorite pie for any time of the year and now having made this recipe for the last couple of years, i now have an excuse to eat it all year round.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
This was my first time making pumpkin pie from scratch and it came out amazing. I think my only complaint is that somehow I ended up with enough filling for two store bought deep-dish pie crusts, instead of just one pie. No matter, cause it was so good we ate both of them anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States