Mom's Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
I don't know if I did something wrong, but this seemed to be runny. I wasn't thrilled with the texture, and my guests thought the spices were a bit much. I am not a huge pumpkin pie fan anyway, but I think I've tasted better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Loved this recipe! We made these pies for thanksgiving and they were the best pumpkin pies ever. We did have to bake them a lot longer than the recipe said. About 45 min longer. I will use this one again! I also added 1 tsp of cinnamon instead of 1/2 tsp. Also we added 1/2 tsp of pumpkin pie spice to it just to make sure. It was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Very good basic recipe, not enough spices (personal preference). I changed the amounts as follows: 1 tsp ground ginger, 1/2 tsp ground cloves, 1/2 tsp salt ad used 1 cup of milk rather than the 1 1/2 called for. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Living In: Central Point, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wickedeyes
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
You CAN'T screw this one up! If you follow the directions exactly it will turn out perfectly I promise you. Tastes good, too of course! For even better results I recommend baking the pie shell for about 5-8 minutes by itself at 400 degrees F. Then turn oven down to 350 and bake entire pie for around 45 minutes. I substituted nutmeg/ginger/cloves with Pumpkin Pie Spice and it tasted even better! Let pie cool in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I made this for Thanksgiving and it was fabulous! I doubled the spices based on other reviews and, for me, this was a mistake. I should have probably just made the recipe "as is" the first time. Even with the overloaded spices, it was the best pie I've had in a long, long time. I made homemade crust but used canned pumpkin. Today I'm making it again with my own baked pumpkin and I'm sure it will be even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Not too many people ate the pumpkin pie at Thanksgiving. Not sure if it was because this was my first pumpkin pie or because everyone was too full. I don't care for pumpkin pie, I made it for everyone else. Probably wouldn't make this again (easier just to buy one).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelleywilsonaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
This pie was sooo easy to make and super-yummy! I didn't have any cloves so I omitted those. Turned out perfect. Also, I ended up baking for 60 min. instead of the recommended 40-45. Everyone's oven is different so just keep a close eye on it! Will be using this recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Must use a 9" DEEP dish pie pan to hold all of the filling ingredients! Texture was less than perfect, would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I thought this was a fantastic pumpkin pie. I followed the directions with a small exception of adding just a tad less milk, probably didn't make a difference anyways. I has no problems with mine being watery or not setting up as some people mention in previous reviews. I loved that this recipe uses a lot of spice. I will make this recipe again. In the end, I used a deep dish and had extra mixture, like 1 1/2 cups leftover that I ended up tossing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This pie tasted amazing!! the only downside was that I doubled the recipe, then followed it to the "T" and it made WAY more then 2 pies: it made 5. i don't know what was different, but i won't ever be changing the quantity again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States