Mom's Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2001
overall, this is a very good pie with a nice taste. the time for baking is much longer than 30 mins at 325 however. Every time I have baked this it was at least 50 mins. Because of this amount of time in the oven, you may want to put aluminum foil around the edge of the pie to prevent the crust from becoming too brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
The way you make the design is you just use a second pie crust and use the dough.. Just roll it out and use cookie cutters to cut out your designs.. place them on top and wala!!! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
I will definitely make "Mom's Pumpkin Pie!! Question, how do you make the design on top of the pie? It is so lovely!! tat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
This pie has become a family favorite. I just love all the spices.. they give it so much flavor! I have found that you need to cut back on the cloves though because otherwise they tend to overpower everything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
I made 6 of these for Thanksgiving, my first try at homemade pumpkin pies and they were all gone by the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2004
So simple and tasty! It's a great pie. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Suffield, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2002
TRIED THIS RECIPE WITH FRESH PUMPKIN AND IT WAS A REAL HIT WITH ALL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
I changed the spices a little but this recipe is great. It is spicy which is how I like it! I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out perfectly. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corner Brook, Newfoundland, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
I have been making this pie for over a year now! It was kind of a spoof idea last year to try something new. I'd never made pie before so it seemed like a good starter recipe. I probably made two every week till couldn't find pumpkin anymore!! I LOVE it. Everyone at work loves it, my mom's beau wants it all the time, and I'm going to make a whole bunch to give to co-workers for Thanksgiving this year. A tip- use a DEEP DISH pie crust. If you use a regular pie crust, you WILL have left over filling! I double it up and it fills 3 frozen regular pie crusts or 2 deep dish. It is actually easier to make 2 at a time since pumpkin puree comes in 30oz cans. I don't know where you guys are getting that there is too much salt... Are you not stirring the spices in a separate bowl first? Some day I will try this in a stoneware pie dish! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
This was a big hit with my spice-loving family at our Christmas dinner. My modifications were to make it with butternut squash and to add 1+ Tbsp. of fresh lemon juice, with gives pumpkin/squash pies a brightness. Love this recipe and will definitely make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States