Mom's Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
Don't make this pie!! We could not eat it at our Thanksgiving. It is so SALTY. It has now become the family joke "Hey, would you make your SALT pie for my birthday?" Besides, we like spicy, but this is TOO spicy. Cut back on the cloves and the salt and it may turn out fine. To be safe I would make another one of the great pie recipes on this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I think it turned out nicely. I noticed, however, that the bottom crust didn't seem to cook well... maybe it was slightly soggy? And it definitely took longer to bake... waaayyyy longer in a new stove even. I made it the night before, anyway, so a lengthy bake didn't matter much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
Wonderful! I doubled the recipe as this is my husband's favorite. Only thing I changed was using half brown sugar to half granulated as I had seen this on the Food Network. We loved the spiciness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
I did not care for this pie. All you could taste in it were the cloves, and I even took others suggestions and cut them back a bit. It needs more of all the other ingredients. It also took me almost 2 hours to cook, I dont know why. I do not recommend it to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
I see someone else remarked on the saltiness, and I agree. We could not eat it, the salt ruined it. I will try it again because I think it would be quite good once the salt is cut WAYYYYYY back.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rock Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: Watson, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
This was an OK recipe. I think it has too much salt because thats all I could taste in this pie. So maybe cut the salt to a 1/2 tsp? I like spicy pies, so I thought this one would do the trick. I will probably not use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
Too much spice. I would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
I will definitely make "Mom's Pumpkin Pie!! Question, how do you make the design on top of the pie? It is so lovely!! tat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
I made this pie last night and it was a very delicious pumpkin pie!! It was gone this morning so I am now waiting on the second pie to come out of the oven. Everyone enjoyed it and it was creamy and spices where perfect for us Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
Every time I have baked this it was at least 40 - 50 mins. So put aluminum foil around the edge of the pie to prevent the crust from becoming too brown. Also I didn't have allspice so I left it out and couldn't tell. I usually add 3 eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States