Mom's Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
This is the best pumpkin pie I've ever tasted! I made it exactly like the recipe. The only difference is that I did use fresh pumpkins rather than canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RetroMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
I've made this pie over and over and we adore it. My boyfriend won't even eat a store bought pumpkin pie anymore. We've made this with canned and fresh pumpkin. A MILLION times better with fresh. I do reduce the salt. Everything else is exactly the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
I've been looking for a spicy pumpkin pie recipe since Mrs. Smith stopped making them. This one fits the bill. Followed the recipe exactly and loved it. Had filling left over and made about 6 mini muffin-pies with the rest. Baking time was 15 minutes longer for my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
This recipe was enough for 3 frozen pie shells. Luckily I had an extra pack in the freezer. I used McCormick's pumpkin pie spice and used the recommended amount on the container and it was very mild in flavor. Think I will try the individual spices next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tonawanda, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
The texture and appearance were great, but I guess I like my pumpkin pie a bit sweeter. The spices gave it a bite instead of a blended flavor to me. My husband liked it, so I guess it's a matter of taste. I know I was looking for that traditional pumpkin pie flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ariton, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Perfect! Not salty at all. Wonderful! Love the extra spice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
I bake this recipe every thanksgiving. Every time I make it I get rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
I just tried my first (I made them in tart form) and it could use a little bit more sugar. I added 2 tsp more cinnamon and only used 1/2 the cloves and glad I read the review about the cloves being overpowering!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
I have been making this pie for over a year now! It was kind of a spoof idea last year to try something new. I'd never made pie before so it seemed like a good starter recipe. I probably made two every week till couldn't find pumpkin anymore!! I LOVE it. Everyone at work loves it, my mom's beau wants it all the time, and I'm going to make a whole bunch to give to co-workers for Thanksgiving this year. A tip- use a DEEP DISH pie crust. If you use a regular pie crust, you WILL have left over filling! I double it up and it fills 3 frozen regular pie crusts or 2 deep dish. It is actually easier to make 2 at a time since pumpkin puree comes in 30oz cans. I don't know where you guys are getting that there is too much salt... Are you not stirring the spices in a separate bowl first? Some day I will try this in a stoneware pie dish! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
This was a big hit with my spice-loving family at our Christmas dinner. My modifications were to make it with butternut squash and to add 1+ Tbsp. of fresh lemon juice, with gives pumpkin/squash pies a brightness. Love this recipe and will definitely make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States