Mom's Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
This is the best pumpkin pie I've ever tasted! I made it exactly like the recipe. The only difference is that I did use fresh pumpkins rather than canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RetroMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
I've made this pie over and over and we adore it. My boyfriend won't even eat a store bought pumpkin pie anymore. We've made this with canned and fresh pumpkin. A MILLION times better with fresh. I do reduce the salt. Everything else is exactly the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
I've been looking for a spicy pumpkin pie recipe since Mrs. Smith stopped making them. This one fits the bill. Followed the recipe exactly and loved it. Had filling left over and made about 6 mini muffin-pies with the rest. Baking time was 15 minutes longer for my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
This recipe was enough for 3 frozen pie shells. Luckily I had an extra pack in the freezer. I used McCormick's pumpkin pie spice and used the recommended amount on the container and it was very mild in flavor. Think I will try the individual spices next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tonawanda, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
The texture and appearance were great, but I guess I like my pumpkin pie a bit sweeter. The spices gave it a bite instead of a blended flavor to me. My husband liked it, so I guess it's a matter of taste. I know I was looking for that traditional pumpkin pie flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ariton, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Perfect! Not salty at all. Wonderful! Love the extra spice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
I bake this recipe every thanksgiving. Every time I make it I get rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
I just tried my first (I made them in tart form) and it could use a little bit more sugar. I added 2 tsp more cinnamon and only used 1/2 the cloves and glad I read the review about the cloves being overpowering!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
I have been making this pie for over a year now! It was kind of a spoof idea last year to try something new. I'd never made pie before so it seemed like a good starter recipe. I probably made two every week till couldn't find pumpkin anymore!! I LOVE it. Everyone at work loves it, my mom's beau wants it all the time, and I'm going to make a whole bunch to give to co-workers for Thanksgiving this year. A tip- use a DEEP DISH pie crust. If you use a regular pie crust, you WILL have left over filling! I double it up and it fills 3 frozen regular pie crusts or 2 deep dish. It is actually easier to make 2 at a time since pumpkin puree comes in 30oz cans. I don't know where you guys are getting that there is too much salt... Are you not stirring the spices in a separate bowl first? Some day I will try this in a stoneware pie dish! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
This was a big hit with my spice-loving family at our Christmas dinner. My modifications were to make it with butternut squash and to add 1+ Tbsp. of fresh lemon juice, with gives pumpkin/squash pies a brightness. Love this recipe and will definitely make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States