Mom's Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
It was ok, probably human error but mine seemed a little grainy to me. And though I didn't mind the spices, I prefer regular ole pumpkin pie. And I put some of the leaves on top, but I definitely needed more. It looked kinda silly, so in this case, more is more! Good recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
Followed recipe to the letter. I loved it. Husband thought it a bit too spicy. But I will do it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
Yes! I agree with many others that this pie reminds them of what mom/grandma used to make. I thought Mama made the absolute best lemon pies - ones that taste like lemon with some sugar rather than sugar with some lemon. The balance is perfect. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
WOW!! my family ate the whole pie in under 20mins! i didn't get but a taste! Yes, it's strong on spice, but the label said so.. and my family prefers it that way! It took 1hour 15minutes to be completely cooked which is a bit more than originally stated, but that could also be the type of oven. 100% incredible recipe! Thank you sooo much for sharing this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mtt

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
The way you make the design is you just use a second pie crust and use the dough.. Just roll it out and use cookie cutters to cut out your designs.. place them on top and wala!!! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
Fantastic!! Just reduce the cloves by half. Thanks for a great recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Branch, Indiana, USA
Living In: Henderson, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Way too much cloves and I only used 1/2 of what was recommended. Our lips were numb and the heartburn was intense. However, if you like cloves, you'll love the pie. It did also have the perfect consistancy, just way too much spice for my husband and I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rebelmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
way tomuch allspice and cloves
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I made this for our Thanksgiving this year. I will never go back to any other pumpkin pie. Love the spices.. covered the too pumpkiny taste nicely and was joy. Guests loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Kotzebue, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Perfect! Best I have ever made. I used fresh pumpkin I had frozen. When I measured it I had about 1/3 cup extra and went ahead and dumped it in..still came out perfect. Ohhh. I only used 1/2 tsp. of cloves, dear husband is not a big fan....but it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States