Mom's Prize Winning Raw Apple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
Amazingly moist balanced cake. Seemed to make a bit too much topping but this is a miniscule issue. Great way to use sour milk. Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
doubled amount of apples, great cake. Topping too much sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
This is one of my favorite recipes ever. I ate an obscene amount of this cake as it was way too good. I never heard of sour milk, other than milk gone bad in the fridge, so I googled it: 1- Place 1 tablespoon freshly squeezed lemon juice or distilled white vinegar in a glass measuring cup. 2- Add in milk (2% or richer) to equal 1 cup. Stir. 3- Let stand for 15 minutes until it looks like its beginning to curdle or slightly curdled. Worked like a charm! I didn't peel my apples either because most of the nutrients sit under the skin of fruits, so if I'm going to eat something not so good for me, it may as well have some nutritional value...lol. Mostly though, I'm lazy. Tasted great peels and all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
VERY yummy! I had some sour milk that I wanted to use, so I thought I'd try this recipe. Very easy. I made a double batch & took it to work. They gobbled up every bit of it! Another nice thing about it was I had everything on hand already... didn't have to go out & buy anything new! I think I might try it as muffins next time. Hmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missi K

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
It was very good! My husband loved it. I did make 2 changes: first of all, it did need a little more baking. I baked it for about 10 more minutes on convection and secondly, I sprayed it with a little margarine spray during those last 10 minutes of baking. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Harbor, Florida, USA
Living In: Highland Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
A great way to use up old apples
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
I'd rate this 4 stars for taste but only 3 because the center of the cake didn't get done. Left it in the oven for an extra 25 minutes until bottom started to burn. The sides were good but we had to throw out the entire middle section of the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RueBarbe
Reviewed: May 8, 2005
This was very good, but we didn't love it. I made it as written. It's quite sweet; I would prefer more apple or spice flavour, rather than 'sweet'. Because it was tender & moist, I might try it again with more spices, maybe as muffins. I should add, I did have 2 requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RueBarbe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2004
very good, more cake-like, not too dense, if that's what you're looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karin
Living In: Jamestown, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2001
Wonderful and tasty cake. It has the moist consistency of a carrotcake, with crispy nut and sugar top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States