Mom's Pretzels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
Though the making of the dough was easy enough, these pretzels baked up hard as rocks on the outside and really odd on the inside. The taste of the dough was great, and it was simple enough to make, but don't make these expecting soft pretzels like at the mall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Very good I put all of it in my bread machine. Even messed up and put the baking soda in it but hay the were good. I am sure next time they will be even better with out the baking soda mixed in the middle hehe. My girl love making them we had a blast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
These were excellent and easy, especially since I dropped everything, wet to dry, into my bread machine and entered the dough cycle. When cycle was done (1.5 hours later, without hardly lifting a finger) I inverted the very wet dough onto a WELL FLOURED kneading surface and proceeded to knead for 5 minutes. The dough ate up about 1 cup extra flour, but that did not compromise the flavor or texture of the end result. My 7 y/o and I shaped 'em up and baked 'em off at around 425 (my oven runs hot), 6 to a pan, for 6 minutes, rotating the pans, then adding another 6 minutes. Served with mustard. SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
Perhaps the problem was using spelt flour instead of regular (our daughter cannot tolerate regular wheat flour) but we had some serious problems. We needed to add a lot more flour so the dough wasn't too sticky (a common problem with spelt substitution). Leaving the pretzels to set for 30 minutes allowed them to start forming a crust, but then putting them into the water, they expanded and every crack in the crust was magnified. Quite tasty but misshapen pretzels were the result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
Awesome! Followed recipe exactly and they came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
very simple recipes and it works very well. Just very time consuming I find. Also, be very careful not to bump the preztels in the slightest amount, otherwise they will flatten out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dunnville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Waubaushene, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
These were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Deridder, Louisiana, USA
Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
This is a great and accurate recipe for making classic soft pretzels. Expect the dough to be sticky... that's just pretzel dough. If you add too much flour while kneading, your pretzels will be tough and hard. Follow the directions as written and you will come out with great pretzels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Hooper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: New Albany, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 41-48 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mall Pretzels

Make these yeasty, chewy pretzels at home. Your family will love them.

Baked Soft Pretzels

Use your bread machine to make perfectly soft baked pretzels.

Buttery Soft Pretzels

These are so much better, and cheaper, than mall pretzels!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States