Mom's Pretzels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Followed directions to the letter and they came out great. This is my go to recipe for pretzels or any risen dough recipe. I did not cook them at 475 but 425 I felt this would make them come out to hard. Depends how you like your pretzels I like mine soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
This recipe was exactly what I was looking for. My kids loved them. I can't wait to make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
These were wonderful. Will make again. Followed the advice of another review and added more baking soda to the boiling water, had wonderful flavor and very soft and chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
I think these were good, but not my absolute favorite since I was looking for more of a philly pretzel taste. My son loved them but he also loves the Auntie Anne's which I don't. These taste similar, just not as buttery so I can eat them. They were fun to make and the kids were very excited, loved shaping them their own way. Overall, great recipe and I will be making them again since my kids have already requested them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
These are incredible...I was a bit confused about the boiling process as I was not sure what to expect. After the first couple, I got the hang of it. I actually got a very large pasta pot (Rachel's Rays is great because it is wide) and then I could do 4-5 at a time. I also doubled the recipe which worked great....next time I might try to just make small pretzel bites rather than full pretzels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
An excellent and easy recipe. Yes these take time, but it's mainly wait time. I am a novice baker and I pulled these off without a hitch, and they are so tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
I made these yesterday for our Super Bowl pregame snacks and they were a hit. I'm convinced pretzel-making is half recipe and half technique. I substituted warm Heinekin's for the water and everyone enjoyed the taste. I so appreciate all the helpful previous reviews about the baking soda bath. I will add that there is no need to rush thru the process. - 45 sec. on each side was good. In fact, I took the time to drain the dough on a rack (towel under) with good results. My biggest problem was "rolling the dough". My arthritic hands simply stretched and squeezed as best I could. Thanks for the recipe...I'll do this again next year if not before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy7905

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Easy recipe with a nice flavor. I got the water ready while I formed the pretzels. I did not let these rest for 30 minutes as directed because I wanted them to show a little splitting when I baked them. In the water top side down, flipped over after 30 seconds. Used an egg white wash before salting. I think they turned out beautifully. Thank you for the recipe- (better than AB's !)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Made these also sprinkled with garlic salt and parmesan cheese. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I just tried this recipe out. These are to die for. I tried other pretzel recipes but this was so easy the results were great. Thanks. As a side note we used our profession mixer instead of mixing by hand...12/23/11
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Mall Pretzels

Make these yeasty, chewy pretzels at home. Your family will love them.

Buttery Soft Pretzels

These are so much better, and cheaper, than mall pretzels!

Mom's Zucchini Bread

See how to make a super-moist, five-star quick bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States