Mom's Potato Puffs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
these are great and if your not getting them right....somethings wrong
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
did this tonight for my kids (19,8,twin 4 and 2) they were marvelous! my oldest has lots of ideas for making them for breakfast (bacon and sausage) lunch (ham and cheese) and many many more....there is never going to be left over potatoes in our house again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
I remember begging my mother to make extra mashed potatoes so we could have her potato puffs the next night. As a child I helped mom make them. My mother handed down her recipe to me. I lost it and couldn't remember the exact measurements. This recipe jarred my memory. The only difference is that I use less salt. Also as others said you can add diced onion, and/or bacon, etc. to add different dimensions. I use a small cookie scoop to make hush puppy size puffs. If you make them too big they won't get done inside or else you'll have to fry them way to brown. Other than the salt this recipe is the one! Thanks for posting this. Also, some reviewers mentioned the "dough" to be too runny or too thick. The viscosity of the raw product will depend on how thick you originally made your mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
These are pretty good! I am against using too much oil in my cooking, so I had to bake my puffs after frying them to a slight golden crisp. Either way they turned out really delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
This is so good (my wife wanted them again). I also added cheese, onion, bacon,and garlic as others have suggested. My potatoes were a bit dry, so I also added another egg. Having no children to worry about I added Worcestershire sauce, mustard and a dash of red pepper flakes. Fried in a bit of oil, these came out crispy and tasty, no need for a dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
OH MY GOD!!! I could eat a truck bed full of these. I'd better not make mashed potatoes ever again, or I'll be making these left and right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Yummy. I had a husband that got alittle carried away potatoes. This was a great way to use them! I added Chedder cheese, chopped onion and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
These are great, tried them with cheddar, bacon and green onion, yummy, we cooked them at a friends house and they loved them as well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
We enjoyed these a lot. Took advice from others and cut the flour in half. Added cheese, garlic powder, salt and pepper. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
I had a left over roast chicken with potatoes. Made sandwiches out of the chicken and didn't want to throw the potatoes away. So I threw them in the food processor and followed the instructions. A great success, even if a little greasy amd fattening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Commack, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

My Crispy Mashed Potato Pancake

An easy, delicious way to enjoy leftover mashed potatoes for breakfast or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States