Mom's Potato Puffs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2003
This is such a great idea for leftover potatoes. I don't have any kids...but I do watch over younger siblings and a niece...they love this stuff. I made it just because they were really hungry and I didn't have anything for them to eat. Now they ask my mom to make it for them. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
WOW! They were so good. I had 4 of them. I added cheese onions and bacon. I added a little sour cream on one. I prefer it without the sour cream. Next time I will add more onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
I had a recipe similar to this in my recipe box, but didn't have the measurements. This is so good, I am making them for the first time right now, couldn't wait to try them. Delicious! I did add some minced onion, but that was the only change. Thank you for a very simple, great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susannb
Home Town: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Cadiz, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
Even though I added a lot of seasonings, I'm still rating this a five based on creativity. I used my favorite brand of instant mashed potatoes and quadrupled the recipe because both of my daughters boyfriends were here (and you know how they can eat). I only used two eggs and didn't measure the flour; just put in what looked about right. I added bacon and parm to the mix and yes, the "dough" was sticky, however, I floured my hands very well to help with the rolling. My buddy Josie tried this recipe and found the potatoes to be too greasy, but I think, honey bun that maybe your oil wasn't hot enough. I always use a candy thermometer to make sure the temp is at 350 degrees. Patti, I certainly made a lot of these babies and I'm happy to say, that most were devoured!! I can see myself making these as an appetizer using cheddar and jalapeno peppers. YUMMO and thanks so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2002
These were a HUGE hit with my kids especially my extra finicky 2 yr old. I have had potato cakes before but these were the perfect size for little fingers. I added grated onion, minced garlic and 1/2 cup shredded cheese. They were grabbing them before they were cooled off! thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2003
These were excellent! What a unique use of left over mashed potatoes. I added some grated cheddar cheese for added substance. Great for kids! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2004
These are great. I never knew you could do that with mashed potatoes. I have only tried them plain so far, cant wait to add cheese! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2005
I finally found the recipe i was looking for. My dad would make these for us when we were kids. although my dad had put in seasoning to improve the flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
Yum! What a great treat when a deep-fried snack is craved. I love adding cheese, bacon and onions as the author suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annette P.

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
My husband and I devoured these. I added twice the salt (1 tsp), black pepper to taste, and about a tabplespoon of minced onion. I pan fried them in a 1/4 inch of oil. Pan frying is a little more work because I have to keep rotating the puffs to brown them, but I don't have as much oil to clean up. We used Chili Sauce as a dip. These puffs could easily be made into potato pancakes. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L. Rakic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Potato Latkes

Crispy, fried potato patties you can serve up for breakfast, lunch, or dinner.

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States