Mom's Potato Puffs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
These are the best way to use leftover mashed potatoes! The whole family loves them, and guests are always impressed. Using a small cookie scoop, such as the ones from Pampered Chef, makes for a neater presentation. They also reheat well in the oven, just like baking store-bought tater-tots. Yum. Thank you for this simple and delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
These were good, just not exactly 5 stars worth due to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maya

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
I used garlic-seasoned left over mashed potatoes which were very flavorful. After I added the flour (half the recommended amt), eggs, and baking powder, the potatoes lost a lot of the flavor though. I even added mozzerella cheese, but it was still on the bland side. I recommend adding quite a bit more seasonings than you normally would. Deep frying also made them heavier (greasier) than they needed to be. Next time I'll try pan frying them like others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
I usually don't like mashed potatoes, but made this way with the leftovers is very tasty. Everyone in my house loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lancaster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
These were pretty good. Definitely add the cheese and maybe scallions for flavor. I also added black pepper, increased the salt and served with sour cream. They actually tasted better the next day, as most dishes do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
These are good but I added my touch to them, fold in some whole kernal corn,frozen or canned drained.They make great little potato,corn fritters for any occassion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
The batter did not form into a ball and was slightly runny. The flavor, however, was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoodCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
I had a recipe similar to this in my recipe box, but didn't have the measurements. This is so good, I am making them for the first time right now, couldn't wait to try them. Delicious! I did add some minced onion, but that was the only change. Thank you for a very simple, great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susannb
Home Town: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Cadiz, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
My husband and I devoured these. I added twice the salt (1 tsp), black pepper to taste, and about a tabplespoon of minced onion. I pan fried them in a 1/4 inch of oil. Pan frying is a little more work because I have to keep rotating the puffs to brown them, but I don't have as much oil to clean up. We used Chili Sauce as a dip. These puffs could easily be made into potato pancakes. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L. Rakic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
I found these tasted too floury, but other than that were an interesting alternative to our usual potato side dishes. I think next time I'll use less flour, add some corn, green chiles, and cheese, and perhaps pan fry rather than deep fry to cut down on the fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Irving

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bath, Maine, USA
Living In: Pembroke, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

My Crispy Mashed Potato Pancake

An easy, delicious way to enjoy leftover mashed potatoes for breakfast or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States