Mom's Potato Latkes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 31, 2015
Overall, I enjoyed these. I omitted the onion (personal preference) and used crushed butter & garlic croutons in place of saltines. The latkes were too salty for my taste but my boyfriend didn't think so. I put grape jelly on mine to cut the saltiness which tasted great. 5 stars with half the salt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
I made these for a party I went too.. I fried them as people came up.... The only thin I changed was to use Matzos crackers... I am making them tonight for my friends Seder dinner... Love this recipe.. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
I had never had Latkes before so I really didn't know what to expect. One word describes them "Addictive". I thought that grating the potatoes would take longer but I was surprised at how quickly it went. They were so good and I am grateful to you for sharing your family recipe. Thanks so much Lindsay!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bren
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
Excellent, and just like my Mom's. She made these frequently during Lent as a side dish with salmon patties and stewed tomatoes. I was missing Mom last night and craving this meal, and I was very happy with how the latkes turned out. I layered the shredded potatoes with paper towels in a large bowl to absorb the excess moisture, which worked well. Thanks for a great recipe, one that I'll make for years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cecefltrn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Thomas Gackle
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
First few were too wet, I drained with a strainer...the taste was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
this recipe is great I did learn a new trick to them crispy and less greasy use a hand towel or cheese cloth to remove extra water from the potatoes by squeezing them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
These are amazing! The only change I made was to use a 20oz bag of pre shredded potatoes. They have much less moisture so you don't have to squeeze all the water out. They came out perfect, and absolutely delicious. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nat1008
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly as written and they came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
A huge hit with everyone in the family BUT we followed the video, not the directions printed here. The directions here don't mention you should soak the potatoes in water to get rid of excess starch, then squeeze the water out of the potatoes by stuffing it into a clean dish towel, then applying as much pressure as you can. I did the same with the onion. I think this made a tremendous difference in the final texture, which was crispy and held together, rather than watery and falling apart (as has happened to me in the past). The video also suggested serving with lox over the sour cream, also a hit. Overall: fantastic! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Aja
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
One word: Delicious! I'm glad I chose this recipe to make latkes for the first time. The addition of saltine crackers is what pushed me to try this particular recipe. Very easy to make and tasty! I can't believe I hadn't made latkes sooner and will continue to make them more often now. I served it with some sour cream and diced raw granny smith apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aja

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Potato Latkes

Crispy, fried potato patties you can serve up for breakfast, lunch, or dinner.

Potato Latkes I

Watch how to make these top-rated potato latkes.

Mom's Scalloped Potatoes

Perfectly creamy scalloped potatoes, just like Mom would make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States