Mom's Potato Latkes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Thomas Gackle
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
First few were too wet, I drained with a strainer...the taste was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
this recipe is great I did learn a new trick to them crispy and less greasy use a hand towel or cheese cloth to remove extra water from the potatoes by squeezing them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
These are amazing! The only change I made was to use a 20oz bag of pre shredded potatoes. They have much less moisture so you don't have to squeeze all the water out. They came out perfect, and absolutely delicious. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nat1008
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly as written and they came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
A huge hit with everyone in the family BUT we followed the video, not the directions printed here. The directions here don't mention you should soak the potatoes in water to get rid of excess starch, then squeeze the water out of the potatoes by stuffing it into a clean dish towel, then applying as much pressure as you can. I did the same with the onion. I think this made a tremendous difference in the final texture, which was crispy and held together, rather than watery and falling apart (as has happened to me in the past). The video also suggested serving with lox over the sour cream, also a hit. Overall: fantastic! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Aja
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
One word: Delicious! I'm glad I chose this recipe to make latkes for the first time. The addition of saltine crackers is what pushed me to try this particular recipe. Very easy to make and tasty! I can't believe I hadn't made latkes sooner and will continue to make them more often now. I served it with some sour cream and diced raw granny smith apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aja

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
Honestly, the best latkes ever. I made them exactly as the recipe directed! DELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
These are darn good...and a little indulgent maybe. These have origin in the Middle East and Europe. Yet, like many things, food is enjoyed and needed by every culture...from the Middle East to Scandinavia to Thailand. Universally good food is just that. It worked well for me to use a little oil on the pan for each pancake and not immersing it, adding more when flipping. Glad I watched the video to freshen up my potato squeezing technique. I don't have a spinner...plus it makes me dizzy. Grated cheese might be good. Seems any kind of binder works...might try pulverized flavored croutons after the roasted Panko crumbs after the home made whole wheat seasoned bread crumbs after the Cheezy crackers (ok, I'll stop now).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casey M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
We used Ritz crackers as we didn't have saltines and it still came out great. I might try adding some minced scallions next time . Thanks Lindsey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Joy, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
Excellent just as written. I let the shredded potatoes sit for a while before mixing with the other ingredients and the moisture came out on it's own. I used these as a side to lamb loin chops. We ate these without any toppings and they were perfect. When I make again, I may try to cut back a bit on the oil. Thank you Lindsay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duboo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langdon, North Dakota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mom's Potato Latkes

Crispy, fried potato patties you can serve up for breakfast, lunch, or dinner.

Potato Latkes I

Watch how to make these top-rated potato latkes.

How to Make Potato Latkes

Use your food processor to make potato latkes the easy way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States