Mom's Portuguese Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Probably more like 4.5 for me. I made as-written, which is what this rating is based on. Good flavor, good combination of veggies, but lacked a liitle something for me @ the end. Perhaps red wine instead of white? White wine seemed like an odd ingredient for beef stew. Just one T. of McCormick's Montreal Steak Seasoning did the trick, though, it turned out just fantastic, and I will be making this all winter long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherrie Cumming

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
Pretty bland. Ended up adding a bunch of spices to make it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David Rojek

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
I loved this stew. I did use red wine instead of white and added rosemary, it was a nice fit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Browned beef then threw it all in the slow cooker on high for about 3-1/2 hours (6-8 hrs on low). Love this recipe - I doubled the spices, left out the green pepper (don't care for it much) and used a can of diced tomatoes - instead of the water, next time I plan to use beef broth instead to make it even richer. Excellent dish, easy to make - will also add peas next time. Thanks so much for this new dish in our dinner rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3BadBoxers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Centreville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
This stew is delicious! I added 1/2 cup chicken broth for extra savoriness. This was my first time cooking with wine, and I was pleasantly surprised with the flavor it added to the stew. I used frozen green beans instead of canned, and chopped a whole tomato instead of a 1/2 of one. This is a perfect comfort meal for the Fall. We will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
Oh, yum, yum, yum! How delicious was this stew? Hubby had three servings, that good! I did an "experimental" slow cooker version, I used a huge sweet potato, cubed, and two idaho cubed for the botom layer of the crock, added fresh cut green beans, and added all of the other veggies raw and large diced on top. I browned the beef with that wonderful garlic and some Montreal seasoning, added to the crock, and added ground celery seed (my secret ingredient for all veggie based soups and stews!), ground pepper to the mix. I added two cups beef broth (instead of one cup water) and a cup of white wine to the mix, since I was slow cooking and a little concerned about drying out. This stew was savory and delicious after 9 hours on low, and very brothy, plenty of liquid. Sincere thanks to you and your family & mom for sharing this recipe, dolcevita, you have a winner here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
Probably the best Beef stew I have ever made. I did not have any wine but used canned diced tomatoes in juice instead of the wine and 1/2 tomatoe, worked great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MesaMa
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
I used half cup beef broth and half cup of a pink wine (red & white mix, because I didn't have white) and fresh green beans instead of canned. The sweet potato/yams added an underlying sweetness that I didn't expect but was pleasantly surprised. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MesaMa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Delicious stew! Even better the next day. I'll be making this regularly! Followed the directions and ingredients exactly, wouldn't change a thing. I might try it in the slow cooker though, after the browning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
This was delicious. I made it in the pressure cooker to save time. I used all sweet potatoes instead of some red and fresh green beans instead of a can, otherwise everything was the same. Wonderful flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States