Mom's Portuguese Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
This is a wonderful stew that reminded me of so many dishes I had in Spain. This one will definitely be added to my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
Good as written but much better if you use red wine instead of white and add chicken stock in addition to the water mainly because I use fresh green beans. with those changes this is five star all the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Rick does not like
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cheffster
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Wonderful stew - I'm so glad I found this. I substituted stew beef with a cubed boneless chuck roast, beef broth for water, and red wine for white. This has a delicious flavor and aroma - the sweet potato... outstanding!! I doubled the recipe which is going to give us plenty of happy leftovers. Very highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheffster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
I was nervous, but it came out good! I mixed both white and red wine, and I used beef broth with a half cup of water. I think the sweet potatoes take it to another level... This is a nice staple added to my recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mgoler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
I made this stew with rosemary instead of parsley, because I had fresh rosemary and no fresh parsley! Otherwise, followed the recipe to the letter; super delicious - no leftowvers! My family love stew, and the addition of sweet potato and wine make this stew really yummy! Putting it in my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
I give this a 4.5 .... It was really tasty. Next time I want to season the potatoes by themseleves to give it more flavor. I seasoned the chicken with some goya adobo before flouring. Instead of using a regular tomatoe i used a can diced....def will make again =D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
Easy to prepare, and delicious! Makes for 3 dinners!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quebec, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Kailua, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Fabulous Recipe, especially for a base recipe! I added the sweet potatoes too soon and they had disintegrated by the time it was ready to serve, though flavor amazing. Next time I will add half of them early like this time and half at the end so to have chunks. I also added a can of kernal corn!!! And a few more spices to taste! WOW this was a killer stew! The white wine AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lady Pamela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rainier, Oregon, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Probably more like 4.5 for me. I made as-written, which is what this rating is based on. Good flavor, good combination of veggies, but lacked a liitle something for me @ the end. Perhaps red wine instead of white? White wine seemed like an odd ingredient for beef stew. Just one T. of McCormick's Montreal Steak Seasoning did the trick, though, it turned out just fantastic, and I will be making this all winter long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherrie Cumming

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States