Mom's Portuguese Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
This is the most delicious stew i've ever had. I make this all the time. Yummy. Tastes even better the next day!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
Super, wasn't a hit for all family members but I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
Very good for a nice cold winter dinner you need something to warm you up. Served with garlic buttered club crackers really ties all the flavors together. You can add a tablespoon of jalapeño salt if you prefer some spice to it like my family does.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
I made this in a slow cooker and used beef broth instead of wine and water. I added creole seasoning to the flour before browning the beef, and even with that it was very bland. The meat was tender because of the crockpot, but there was really nothing much to this dish. Way more work than it was worth, too. Was looking for a different type of beef stew, but I'll stick with the classic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
This is a wonderful stew that reminded me of so many dishes I had in Spain. This one will definitely be added to my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
Good as written but much better if you use red wine instead of white and add chicken stock in addition to the water mainly because I use fresh green beans. with those changes this is five star all the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Rick does not like
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Photo by chefster
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Wonderful stew - I'm so glad I found this. I substituted stew beef with a cubed boneless chuck roast, beef broth for water, and red wine for white. This has a delicious flavor and aroma - the sweet potato... outstanding!! I doubled the recipe which is going to give us plenty of happy leftovers. Very highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
I was nervous, but it came out good! I mixed both white and red wine, and I used beef broth with a half cup of water. I think the sweet potatoes take it to another level... This is a nice staple added to my recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mgoler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
I made this stew with rosemary instead of parsley, because I had fresh rosemary and no fresh parsley! Otherwise, followed the recipe to the letter; super delicious - no leftowvers! My family love stew, and the addition of sweet potato and wine make this stew really yummy! Putting it in my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States