Mom's Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2004
I used regular salted butter and it turned out great! Used my food processer to combine all ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
172 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nrgizrbune41
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
I admit to using shortening. I thought I had butter. I didn't. I forgot the sugar too! But it was a great mistake! This crust was so tender. I filled it with a no bake pumpkin pie from this sight. Got all rave reviews. The secret of any crust is not to handle the dough. I use a spatula to gather it together. I dump dough on a lightly floured pastry cloth and using the corners of the cloth and pull it together. I just roll dough out and aside from turning; I haven't handled the dough. The warmth of your hands make crust tough. Practice makes perfect. I make at least 2-3 pies a month!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
159 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nrgizrbune41

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2002
I used this recipe because I was out of shortning. The dough was so easy to work with!!! Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
This is a nice and simple crust. I used it to make French Silk Chocolate Pie (link below) and Creamy Pumpkin Pie. It was enough for a deep dish 9" pie and a regular 9.5" pyrex pie dish! Make sure you chill before rolling, and if you bake it beforehand prick the bottom and sides with a fork and cover it in two layers of heavy-duty foil for the first 8 or so minutes of baking (then uncover for another 4-6 min.) to prevent it from puffing up (mine still puffed up a little, but not too bad). It tasted good too! http://pie.allrecipes.com/AZ/FrenchSilkChocolatePie.asp http://pie.allrecipes.com/AZ/CrmyPmpkinPi.asp
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally S.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
This is a simple pie crust that I've made several times and that has always worked well for me. I've used it for pumpkin pies, apples pies and apple dumplings. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2003
I had tried many other recipes and none had worked until I tried this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by buttercup8276

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chandler, Indiana, USA
Living In: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
This is a good starting recipe, but the amount of ice water is not accurate. Also, to make flaky crust you must not touch the dough with your hands. I have found that if you keep from touching it and freeze it when done for a day then defrost the next, it is nice and flaky. The colder you can keep the ingredients the better. I always put the flour in the fridge before hand with the bowl so everything is nice and cold
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2003
Great pie crust! I did have to use a bit more water than the recipe called for in order to form the dough in a ball. Otherwise great recipe!! Will use again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
A perfect shrtening free pie crust. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
This recipe finally enabled me to make the flakiest pie crust ever! I put the butter in the freezer for an hour before starting, and I also put an ice cube in the water. I sprinkled a teaspoon of vinegar over the flour/butter mixture before adding the water (this supposedly breaks down the gluten in the flour). It is better to use a pastry cutter than a food processor or mixer - doing it by hand leaves some unmixed pea-sized clumps of butter, which contributes to the flakiness of the pastry. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States