Mom's Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 16, 2013
I have never rated anything 5 but this was fabulous. I have never tasted a flakier crust that was so easy to make. I was pleased to see I had butter at hand to use instead of Crisco or lard. I had not made a pie in at least 30 years & a new recipe, too. The crust was superb. I used it with the Lemon Meringue Pie on this site, luscious also. It could be beginner's luck but It still gets a 5 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bernie Theus

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hilliard, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2013
I like this recipe. Simple & tasty. Didn't have any problems with it at all & my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty Cowley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
This was the flakiest pie crust I have ever had!! It was relatively simple to make with basic ingredients I already had on hand. It will be my "go-to" crust for pastries from now on! I don't have a stand mixer yet so I mixed this using a pastry blender and a fork. I rated it only 4 stars because I needed much more than 1/3 cup of ice water to get the dough to come together, otherwise a perfect recipe. With the exception of freezing my butter before use (I generally store it in the freezer anyway) and refrigerating the dough in plastic wrap for about an 3 hours before rolling it out (I accidentally fell asleep and forgot), I otherwise prepared it as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
Super easy. Used my kitchen-aid, refrigerated, rolled - perfect! Going to make additional to freeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Yucaipa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
Simple and great, and no shortening - bonus! I did add just a little bit more ice water. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Works like a charm. Great recipe. I made 5 pies with it, 2 dutch apple and 3 gGerman chocolate. Baked the 3 G.C. pie crusts first, pricked with a fork and covered in tin foil then baked at 350 for 8 minutes. All were flakey and great. By the way these were my very first home made pie crusts. Definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeffrey Frazier Wilson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mattoon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Great pie crust! First time making pie dough, since I never have any shortening on hand. I love how easy it was! Threw everything in a food processor, and like other reviews mentioned, I had to add an extra tablespoon of water to the mix. End result was flaky and delicious! I used this crust for the bottom crust of my mini apple pies, and used Pillsbury pie crust for the top- definitely a noticeable difference between the two. I will never use pre-made pie crusts ever again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
I use half butter, half shortening. I also do 3 tablespoons of water and 3 tablespoons of iced vodka. This is a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
I tried this recipe and it turned out great. I used a food processor to mix all of the ingredients with ease. I would suggest you also use one if you have one. For some reason, I needed to add two more tbs cold ice water for it to get to a point that was necessary to make the ball.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
this worked out excellent I made pasties and originally used shortening which was a disaster. Using butter worked fabulous. I put the butter in the freezer for about 20 minutes before putting in with flour. These were great, firm and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by glow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sault Sainte Marie, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States