Mom's Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
I depend on this recipe now, but the other day I tried to make it from memory (it had been a while) and I used a tsp of salt instead of 3 tbsp of sugar. It turned out great, but it was for a savoury pie. A happy accident I guess. This pie crust has not only made my freezer full of deliciousness and my husband very happy, but it has impressed my parents, and I always thought I couldn't bake. Who knew?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
This was only my second time making pie crust and this recipe was way better than the first.. and way tasty! I used a whole recipe for one pie.. half on top half on bottom.. and it turned out amazing :) Didn't have my mixer but it worked out beautifully with a pastry blender. I will be making several more to freeze and have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
Excellent basic recipe using only butter. Turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
I used to always make crusts with shortening, but now this is my go to recipe. This is so easy and delicious, and as long as everything stays super cold (I like to put everything in the freezer for a few minutes before, and then put the dough in for a few minutes after making before moving to the fridge), it's very easy to clean up after.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Turtle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
It is a good simple basic recipe for pie crust. However, I thought that 1 cup of butter was too much. It made the pie crust very greasy and difficult to form. I had to constantly add flour in order to keep it from breaking apart too easily and sticking to everything. I recommend using 1/2 cup of butter instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mantachie, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
Good and easier than my mom's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
Taste great and easy to make! 5 Stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
Great pie crust. This is my go-to recipe. If making a more savory pie (I am fond of meat pies) I'd suggest omitting the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
Just made an apple pie of facemelting goodness! Changed my (& my DH's) life. Made exactly to the recipe, used my little food processor to cut the butter into the flour piecemeal. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
I love this recipe because it takes butter and not shortening or lard (which I never have). It's very easy and really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan Scott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States