Mom's Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
Easy to make and tastes delicious! I used this crust to make a meat pie and I got rave reviews from my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I've used this recipe several times and people usually rave about the pie, but ALWAYS comment on how flaky and good the crust is. I follow the advice of keeping all the ingredients cold and not handling the dough with my hands. Turns out great every time. I always make enough to freeze. Have made pot pies and pastry bakes in ramekins with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy Pathakis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
My first pie crust.. It worked great, rolled out real nice and easy to transfer to pie plate! Used organic raw sugar, just right amount of sweetness! Ill use this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I did make a couple changes. I substituted 1/2c shortening for 1/2 c of the butter and I did add about 1/4 tsp salt. Very flaky crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I tried this recipe and failed miserably! I took the butter straight from the fridge and cut it up as instructed. I didn't have a pastry blender so I used my skinny mixer blades which I thought worked well at breaking up the butter. I put the flour/sugar in the fridge before adding the ice water and even added the tsp of vinegar that someone suggested before adding the water. It was really dry and I couldn't get it to roll out. Any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Did not like this pie crust. It needs salt and you can skip the sugar. It was tough. I will go back to the regular shortening pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
this is a fantastic recipe I will continue to use and share this with my family and friends it was easy and worked out very well I did not have regular flour so I used whole wheat and it came out great thank you so much for an easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
This pie crust is SO simple and SO delicious! It's the perfect crust for any pie. I'm a huge fan of how easy it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
I used salted butter (that is what I had on hand) and more water. Worked beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
Easy pie crust!! After kneading dough into a ball set in fridge to cool. It will make it easier to roll out
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States