Mom's Peanut Brittle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
After burning a batch of the "easy microwave" kind, I reverted to the tried and true stovetop method. After burning another batch at the sugar stage (gotta watch it close and keep stirring), I successfully made my first batch of awesome, buttery peanut brittle. The only modification I made was to heat to the 300 degree stage. Sounded like a winner to me to avoid pulling fillings out. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RobinPickles
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
First try on peanut brittle here... its fantastic!!! I used one cup of peanuts, and poured the final batter onto a silpat. its perfect!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
I've made 4 batches of this recipe today and each one has been a winner. I did add more peanuts after the first batch, but I followed the recipe exactly as written and used a candy thermometer. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stillwater, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
Thank you for posting this recipe! It reminds me of my mom's just like she made when I was young! This was my first attempt at brittle, so I learned a few things! You really do need to keep your eyes on brittle! I slightly scorched the peanuts when I turned to the sink for only 2 seconds! However, people told me it was better that way, because they hate when the peanuts are still raw! So I guess my oops turned into a success! I did add a bit more peanuts, and didn't use a thermometer, but it turned out excellent. (Don't worry, the candy thermometer is on my Christmas list!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by littleb

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
One of 2 very similar recipes on here. Combine the instructions together for best results. I used 1C of peanuts and would use more next time. When you add the peanuts the temperature will drop, resist the temptation to crank up the setting on your stove. Mixture will shortly return to temp and begin climbing. I think where most have problems is they cook on too high of a setting. After adding peanuts, continue cooking until it reaches 300 degrees (until it is "light brown" is too vague for me when making candy). Until water initially boils off, temperature will climb rather slowly (this is NORMAL for all candy making), just have to give it a few minutes. Recipe says to cover for 3 min. but I don't see that matters, the whole point of the initial cooking is to boil off the water. Certainly recommend a candy thermometer for best/most consistent results since that ice water method is very imprecise unless you have extensive candy making experience. Would also be great with other types of nuts (i.e. almonds or cashews). Pour hot mixture on lightly buttered aluminum foil, let sit until cool then break into desired size pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tricia Jaeger
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
This is pretty good. Maybe could've used some more peanuts. I'm not a huge fan of peanut brittle so I don't quite remember if it supposed to stay stuck in your molars for a while or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
This was my first attempt at peanut brittle. It is awsome!!! My family loved it. The only thing I did different was to cook it to 300 degrees on candy thermometer( after reading other reviews). This isso good. Thanks for sharing your recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
wow this was my first time making Peanut brittle and everyone loved it, thank you so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Jabs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
Thank you so much for sharing this recipe. After looking at all the rest, I decide to try this one, and we sure are glad we did. It is so easy and delicious. My husband and I have made it for the past 4 years every christmas and give it out as gifts. Our family and neighbors look forward to it every Christmas. Absolutely wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
I made this recipe with cashews rather than peanuts but otherwise followed exactly and it came out pretty good. Just really make SURE that you get the temp up to 250F and let it linger there for a few minutes, otherwise you end up with something that's not "brittle" but is too stick-to-your-teeth to be taffy. I'm not kidding, it'll pull the roots right out of your head!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Best Peanut Brittle

Discover the tricks to making simple, 5-star peanut brittle.

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States