Mom's Peanut Brittle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
I love this recipe. The only thing that I add is vanilla. I use spanish peanuts which are not cooked so I add them into the mixture before it reaches 300. It will drop the temp. a little when you add them but it fine still goes up after awhile. Only down side with them is that you have to becareful so you don't burn the peanuts but i like them better then roasted peanuts for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Made two batches and would have been nice if the directions stated it had to come to Hard crack stage before pouring into pans. Mine came out real chewy and I wasted all those ingrediants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
Prepared as written and the brittle was chewy. Good flavor though. Would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Delicious! It's important to allow the butter to brown to give it the proper color. I took it to 300 degrees. Make sure that the baking soda is still good and I have been told (by granny) that the humidity in the air can also make a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
YUM~! this is the first time i've made peanut brittle.. very good and easy.. thanks for sharing..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom of 3 boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havana, Illinois, USA
Living In: New Castle, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
First time making peanut brittle ever and this one looked good and easy to make. It was definetly easy and it came great. My mom loves peanut brittle and she absolutely love this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stoutland, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
This was my (and my daughters) first attempt at Peanut Brittle. It turned out perfect! I was always intimidated by making candy - but after this I will try more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
I'm only giving 4 stars because I forgot to take the advice of others and bring the sugar up to 300 degrees (hard crack stage). My peanut brittle, although very tastey, is really sticky. I had to put it outside on the ice to get it to set so I could break it up. I have to eat it very carefully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
I used to make this one, but for the past 15 years have been making it using the microwave, it just takes 9 minutes and is the best!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
I really liked this recipe. Loved the bit of salty with the sweet. This is the 1st time I've made peanut brittle on my own. And I followed to a T. The only thing negative I would say is...more peanuts. Other then that, excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Best Peanut Brittle

Discover the tricks to making simple, 5-star peanut brittle.

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States