Mom's Peanut Brittle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
SUPERB!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
This recipe worked well for me and I have a fear of peanut brittle--it never worked for me before. My first batch scorched slightly but still tasted good. I doubled the recipe for the second batch and cooked it to just slightly above the soft-crack-stage; turned out perfect! I think many have forgotten that this recipe reads to add the peanuts and butter at the soft-ball-stage and then continue to cook. If you do not bring this to at least the soft-crack stage then add the vanilla and soda mixture it will not set up. Good stuff! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northglenn, Colorado, USA
Living In: Mccook, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
wow this was my first time making Peanut brittle and everyone loved it, thank you so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Jabs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
Thank you so much for sharing this recipe. After looking at all the rest, I decide to try this one, and we sure are glad we did. It is so easy and delicious. My husband and I have made it for the past 4 years every christmas and give it out as gifts. Our family and neighbors look forward to it every Christmas. Absolutely wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2001
If you add popcorn to the mixture when it is being boiled, it tastes great! Just roll the popcorn into balls about the size of a small apple and let it dry. My class loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
Easy to make! Second time to make brittle (First (diff recipe) turned in to peanut soup instead of brittle). Will MAke again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Borger, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
Delicious!!! On my first batch I didn't know what to expect so I over used the butter and under used the peanuts, Next batch though I doubled the peanuts and left the butter to just what I greased the pan with...PERFECTION!!!! My husband and kids will have it all gone by the time the holidays even start, which is fine because it was a cinch to make! Enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
This was my first attempt at peanut brittle. It is awsome!!! My family loved it. The only thing I did different was to cook it to 300 degrees on candy thermometer( after reading other reviews). This isso good. Thanks for sharing your recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
Thank you for posting this recipe! It reminds me of my mom's just like she made when I was young! This was my first attempt at brittle, so I learned a few things! You really do need to keep your eyes on brittle! I slightly scorched the peanuts when I turned to the sink for only 2 seconds! However, people told me it was better that way, because they hate when the peanuts are still raw! So I guess my oops turned into a success! I did add a bit more peanuts, and didn't use a thermometer, but it turned out excellent. (Don't worry, the candy thermometer is on my Christmas list!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by littleb

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
I've made 4 batches of this recipe today and each one has been a winner. I did add more peanuts after the first batch, but I followed the recipe exactly as written and used a candy thermometer. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stillwater, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Best Peanut Brittle

Discover the tricks to making simple, 5-star peanut brittle.

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States