Mom's Peanut Brittle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
Delicious!!! On my first batch I didn't know what to expect so I over used the butter and under used the peanuts, Next batch though I doubled the peanuts and left the butter to just what I greased the pan with...PERFECTION!!!! My husband and kids will have it all gone by the time the holidays even start, which is fine because it was a cinch to make! Enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
This recipe worked well for me and I have a fear of peanut brittle--it never worked for me before. My first batch scorched slightly but still tasted good. I doubled the recipe for the second batch and cooked it to just slightly above the soft-crack-stage; turned out perfect! I think many have forgotten that this recipe reads to add the peanuts and butter at the soft-ball-stage and then continue to cook. If you do not bring this to at least the soft-crack stage then add the vanilla and soda mixture it will not set up. Good stuff! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northglenn, Colorado, USA
Living In: Mccook, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
Easy to make! Second time to make brittle (First (diff recipe) turned in to peanut soup instead of brittle). Will MAke again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Borger, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
First time I made this, I didn't think it was as great as everybody said. Second time, I cooked it to about 305. I took it off the heat, added the baking soda with a tiny pinch of cinnamon, 2 cups of hot peanuts, and the butter. And then I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
This was my first attempt at making peanut brittle, and it turned out great! I always use a candy thermometer, and had read on another recipe to cook it to 300 degrees. I did that for this recipe, and it turned out with just the correct amount of brittleness. It's buttery and sugary...tastes wonderful. Next time, I will add a few more peanuts, but I really love the brittle just as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LORR4824

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sioux City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
The trick is to let it get golden brown for that buttery, caramel flavour. We made several batches, tinkering with the proportions to get the taste and texture just right (for us!) Peanuts 1 1/3 cups, 3/8 tsp sea salt, 3 tbsp real butter and we decreased the baking soda to 3/4 tsp. We prefered batches that were fork-teased. The result was tender, buttery and not too foamy. I also found adding peanuts a little later - two or three minutes after syrup had come to a bubbling boil - helped prevent the nuts from becoming too toasty. Also fabulous with whole almonds. Thanks to all above reviewers, you helped!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
SUPERB!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2001
A great peanut brittle recipe. However, the recipe needs one little correction. Boiling the sugar, water and corn syrup to the "hard ball" stage makes a sticky, chewy candy. Heating to 300F degrees creates a more traditional peanut brittle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
148 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2001
If you add popcorn to the mixture when it is being boiled, it tastes great! Just roll the popcorn into balls about the size of a small apple and let it dry. My class loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2001
Maybe I did something wrong I don't know I have never tried to make hard candy before but I thought this was the one since I did not have a candy thermometer. I followed the directions plus cooked it for another 12 min. that is how long it took to get to hard ball stage. I ended up with a very chewy candy. Needless to say I bought a candy thermometer. Will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Best Peanut Brittle

Discover the tricks to making simple, 5-star peanut brittle.

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States