Mom's Peanut Brittle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
This was my first time making brittle and I followed the directions precisely using a candy thermometer and it turned out great! I added a full cup of the Spanish peanuts and the only trouble I had was when I put it on the buttered cookie sheet, my peanuts weren't all cooperating. My peanuts all went to one side only. I completely think my issues were operator error and I will be using this recipe again and mixing it up with other nuts. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
This could not of came out more perfect!! It was gone quickly. I do not have a candy thermometer and I did not need one. It's easy to know when it's at the hard-ball stage when u can hold a spoon over it and it drips stringy and "web-like." Deffinately took a while to get to that stage, but was well worth the wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
did not work at all!! Never got hard enough to break. I did make this in the winter so maybe that had something to do with it??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
Just made this easy recipe. Wonderful! I added a little more peanuts and some vanilla. I stirred continuously which prevented burning the peanuts. Lovely caramel color and tastes delicious! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
This was my first time making peanut brittle and I followed the advice of other readers and added 1 cup of peanuts, used a candy therm. and cooked it to 300 degrees. Well, this batch I had to throw away! It started burning before it ever got to 300 and there were far to many peanuts...So I adjusted the temp. and added the butter and 3/4 cup of peanuts to the sugar at 250 degrees. I pulled it from the heat at 275 degrees and added the baking soda/salt/vanilla and water, stirred quickly and poured it out on the buttered pan. The peanut brittle is perfect, but I can only give this recipe 4 stars because the lack of details such as what to set the heat at to cook the sugars ( I chose medium/high).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
So yummy! I had never made this before and Iam amazed at how easy it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candace

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
my candy turned out good and the taste was excellant. but when I put in my baking soda at the end of the cooking process the candy started sweeling up over the top of the pan. it just kept boinling over and over, the next time I put it in a large pan so it wouldn't boil all over the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
great recipe I will make this every christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Arlington, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
Yum! I would've given this 5 stars, except that I took other reviewers' alterations and doubled the peanuts and cooked it to 300 -- without those changes, I don't think it would be nearly as good. But WITH those changes, fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
I'm sure after reading the other reviews that I did something wrong. I have a chewy, teeth removing mixture. Cover me, I'm going back in for another try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Temecula, California, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Best Peanut Brittle

Discover the tricks to making simple, 5-star peanut brittle.

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States