Mom's Peanut Brittle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
wow this was my first time making Peanut brittle and everyone loved it, thank you so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Jabs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
Thank you so much for sharing this recipe. After looking at all the rest, I decide to try this one, and we sure are glad we did. It is so easy and delicious. My husband and I have made it for the past 4 years every christmas and give it out as gifts. Our family and neighbors look forward to it every Christmas. Absolutely wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
I made this recipe with cashews rather than peanuts but otherwise followed exactly and it came out pretty good. Just really make SURE that you get the temp up to 250F and let it linger there for a few minutes, otherwise you end up with something that's not "brittle" but is too stick-to-your-teeth to be taffy. I'm not kidding, it'll pull the roots right out of your head!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
Delicious!!! On my first batch I didn't know what to expect so I over used the butter and under used the peanuts, Next batch though I doubled the peanuts and left the butter to just what I greased the pan with...PERFECTION!!!! My husband and kids will have it all gone by the time the holidays even start, which is fine because it was a cinch to make! Enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
This recipe worked well for me and I have a fear of peanut brittle--it never worked for me before. My first batch scorched slightly but still tasted good. I doubled the recipe for the second batch and cooked it to just slightly above the soft-crack-stage; turned out perfect! I think many have forgotten that this recipe reads to add the peanuts and butter at the soft-ball-stage and then continue to cook. If you do not bring this to at least the soft-crack stage then add the vanilla and soda mixture it will not set up. Good stuff! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northglenn, Colorado, USA
Living In: Mccook, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
Easy to make! Second time to make brittle (First (diff recipe) turned in to peanut soup instead of brittle). Will MAke again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Borger, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
First time I made this, I didn't think it was as great as everybody said. Second time, I cooked it to about 305. I took it off the heat, added the baking soda with a tiny pinch of cinnamon, 2 cups of hot peanuts, and the butter. And then I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
This was my first attempt at making peanut brittle, and it turned out great! I always use a candy thermometer, and had read on another recipe to cook it to 300 degrees. I did that for this recipe, and it turned out with just the correct amount of brittleness. It's buttery and sugary...tastes wonderful. Next time, I will add a few more peanuts, but I really love the brittle just as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LORR4824

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sioux City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
The trick is to let it get golden brown for that buttery, caramel flavour. We made several batches, tinkering with the proportions to get the taste and texture just right (for us!) Peanuts 1 1/3 cups, 3/8 tsp sea salt, 3 tbsp real butter and we decreased the baking soda to 3/4 tsp. We prefered batches that were fork-teased. The result was tender, buttery and not too foamy. I also found adding peanuts a little later - two or three minutes after syrup had come to a bubbling boil - helped prevent the nuts from becoming too toasty. Also fabulous with whole almonds. Thanks to all above reviewers, you helped!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
SUPERB!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mom's Best Peanut Brittle

Discover the tricks to making simple, 5-star peanut brittle.

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

Creamy Peanut Butter Fudge

This smooth fudge combines the flavors of peanut and marshmallow. Delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States