Mom's Peanut Brittle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
Came out perfect on my first try. Did not have a candy thermometer, cooked until it was brown and thick. Will definitely buy a candy thermometer. Recommended to all!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Boiled it to 300F, put peanuts (1cup) in at 250F, followed other reviewers advice. While end result did harden, it got really chewy after a few seconds of being chewed. Does that make sense? It didn't stay crunchy. I don't know if that's because of the humidity (I'm in Alaska, so that shouldn't be a problem) or the baking soda. Maybe the soda was old? I dunno. I found another recipe that doesn't call for baking soda, so I'm going to try that one instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
IT'S PERFECT! (Think Santa Claus 2) this is my first time trying peanut brittle. I have always thought it was way too difficult for me. I do have to say, it took me two batches to get it right. My first batch was too chewy. i thought i was going to need dental work, lol. However, I did not have a candy thermometer for the first batch. I highly recommend one. I did increase the amount of nuts to a cup and left all other ingredients the same. Being the first time, this is what I encountered while making this. First, I thought it took quite a long time to get to the hard ball stage (if you insist on trying this without a thermometer, another description of the hardball stage is I stirred the mixture with a fork and then held it above the pan, when a drop fell back down, it left a string like a strand of spider web). It taking longer than i anticipated could have been because I had read that you shouldn't cook too fast/hot, so I had my burner on a medium high. During cooking, I did turn up to high. Once you reach the hardball stage and put in the nuts, it doesn't take too much longer. It will foam up some when you put the nuts in. Make sure you do have everything ready for the next steps as you won't have time at this point. One thing that I noticed on my first batch, it didn't seem to brown at all. I'm sure this is all because I didn't get it hot enough. This is really a great recipe for brittle. I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oxford, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Unfortunately, it came out very chewy, despite using a thermometer to make sure I got to the right heat before taking it off. The consistency seemed fine as well. Oh well. It's much like a hard candy jolly rancher that gets chewy after so long. So it came out well, just not hard like it was supposed to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
First of all, I didn't like the color of it. It turned out sort of a beige color. Not very eye appealing. Second, the taste was off. I will not make this again as my family thought it was not very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I am not a fan of peanut brittle. My 83 year old boss is a fiend for it and once threw out a whole box because it didn't taste right. So, for Christmas this year, I decided to make this recipe for him. First time EVER making peanut brittle OR anything candy-like. I bought a candy thermometer and cooked it to 300° like the instructions on the package said. I shelled roasted peanuts (1 cup shelled) because I couldn't find Spanish peanuts. Everything else I did as instructed (though perhaps used too much butter when buttering my cookie sheet...). The brittle was perfect! Even I liked it! The cooking went smoothly, except when the thermometer fell into the pan, and my boss was very happy with his gift! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 'Lil T

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I really like this recipe as it yields a very flavorful peanut brittle. Usually I just cook a recipe on AllRecipes as originally written and tweak it the next time I make it, but I read the other reviews and implemented other people's suggestions. I prefer my peanut brittle to be more, well, brittle, and cooking to 300° gave the perfect result. I like lots of nuts, so I doubled the quantity to 1 cup. Again, perfect. The only thing I would change next time is that I wouldn't make a "slurry" of the salt, baking soda, vanilla, and water. I'd keep the wet and dry ingredients separate. Overall, excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
I tried this recipe today. I doubled it and had 2 cookie trays. I kept the cookie trays warm and just tilted the pans to spread it. Awsome brittle. Now to keep the boyfriend out of it till Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Delish!!! Easy & my first attempt at brittle or candy for that matter. Not sure how I actually already had a candy thermometer in my drawer, but I used it all the way up to 300 degrees. Best tip was having butter & soda ready to add in at the end (vanilla too). You do have to constantly stir or it can burn quickly. Next time, I'll grease the cookie sheet with butter rather than Pam- was concerned about how much mess was left over & there isn't any! It quickly set up & I was breaking it into pieces within 10 min. Family loves it!!! Will make many times over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
My daughter and I made this last weekend.... OMG... soooo awesome!!! Needless to say gone in a night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ymzuniga
Home Town: Galveston, Texas, USA
Living In: League City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Mom's Best Peanut Brittle

Discover the tricks to making simple, 5-star peanut brittle.

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

Creamy Peanut Butter Fudge

This smooth fudge combines the flavors of peanut and marshmallow. Delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States